Crocus anther, pollen, germinating pollen

Images made through a microscope. All subject types.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Charles Krebs

Crocus anther, pollen, germinating pollen

Post by Charles Krebs »

Spring can't be that far away!

Base of anther and top of filament
Olympus BHA, 5/0.13 MS Plan+NFK 1.67X, transmitted brightfield.

Tip of anther with Pollen
Olympus BHA, 10/0.30 MS Plan+NFK 1.67X, transmitted darkfield.

Pollen germinating on stigma
Olympus BHA, 20/0.46 MS Plan+NFK 1.67X, reflected brightfield with crossed polarizers.

ScottH

Post by ScottH »

Wonderful shots, I'm new to this can you translate what the text means ? (Olympus BHA, 5/0.13 MS Plan+NFK 1.67X, transmitted brightfield.) ?

Thanks

Scott

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Scott, welcome aboard!

Let me take a crack at translating this. Charlie can fix up whatever errors I make, and that will be good because I will learn from them.

"Olympus BHA" is the brand and model of microscope -- essentially, a description of the frame and focusing mechanism.

"5/0.13" means a 5X objective with a Numerical Aperture of 0.13.

"MS Plan" finishes describing the type of objective. I don't know what "MS" means, and it is probably specific to Olympus. "Plan" describes an objective that has a relatively flat field, capable of focusing a flat subject all across the field at the same time.

"NFK" describes a particular series of "projection eyepieces". The job of a projection eyepiece is to take the small image formed by the objective near the top of the microscope's eyepiece tube, and reproject it onto a sensor or film, typically with modest enlargement. In this case, the eyepiece magnification is 1.67X, so the image projected onto the camera sensor would be 5 * 1.67 = 8.35X larger than the subject.

"Transmitted brightfield" means that the subject was lighted from behind and there was no attempt to keep undeviated light from reaching the sensor directly.