My first insect macros

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

homestar455

My first insect macros

Post by homestar455 »

Hello all, I'm new to the world of macro, and I'd appreciate any advice or critique on my first few attempts at macro.

Damselfly:
ISO: 80
Aperture: f/8
Shutter: 1/320

Bee:
Aperture: f/3.3
Shutter: 1/1000

Grasshopper:
Shutter: 1/200

Cow Killer:
Shutter: 1/400

Ladybugs:
Shutter: 1/100

These were all taken in the wild here in Southern California, captured on my Panasonic Lumix FZ7 using it's built in 72mm lens with a Tokina "3x Telephoto conversion lens" reversed in front of that, and a Digital Concepts macro focusing element mounted in front of the reversed lens.

The grasshopper is an HDR and is the only majorly edited image in there, the rest were only touched up to remove some severe Chromatic Aberrations.

Again, any comments or critique would be greatly appreciated.

Cactusdave

Post by Cactusdave »

Not bad at all, but if you want an alternative simple snap on macro lens I think you may get sharper results with the Raynox DCR-250 http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/RAYNOX-DCR-250-Su ... 3ef9af084d Some really cracking shots have been posted on this forum using the Raynox on Lumix cameras and it's a modest price too.
Leitz Ortholux 1, Zeiss standard, Nikon Diaphot inverted, Canon photographic gear

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

homestar45, welcome aboard! :D

Your photos show a lot of promise. I especially like the first one, the damselfly. Good focus placement on the face and eyes, and the slight tilt adds some interest.

Cactusdave has a good suggestion. To see examples, look at any of MarkB1's images in the Nature Photography section. I believe they are all shot with a Panasonic FZ50 and Raynox adapter. See for example HERE.

--Rik

homestar455

Post by homestar455 »