Is the AmScope T490 compatible with Olympus objectives?

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

CLSI

Is the AmScope T490 compatible with Olympus objectives?

Post by CLSI »

I am a macro photographer looking to break into microscopy, as I describe in an earlier thread:

https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... cope+t490b

Ichthyophthirius kindly suggested a few ways to get started with hands-on learning without breaking the bank, one of which was "buy a second-hand basic stand from one of the large manufacturers with modular microscope systems (Zeiss, Leitz, Olympus, Nikon) and upgrade the stand later with the techniques that you're interested in."

After thinking about this a while, I remembered a post by Rik of rjlittlefield I had found earlier about using an AmScope T490 stand as variant of a macro focusing rail:

https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... cope+t490b

The key quote from this post is, "As far as I can tell, the bodies of the Amscope B390 and T490 series microscopes appear to be clones of an Olympus CH." He later modifies this to note that the stand does differ in some ways from the Olympus CH, but I'm left wondering, are the two bases close enough that I might be able to buy and start learning on the AmScope and eventually replace objectives and eyepieces with Olympus or other higher quality optics? I have no idea how interchangeable microscope parts might be, but the AmScope stand appears to be a decent stand.

Alan Wood

Post by Alan Wood »

From looking at the AmScope page:

http://www.amscope.com/40x-1000x-lab-cl ... scope.html