confused newbie bellows extension tubes FF or Crop Lomo 3.7x

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Photocherry

confused newbie bellows extension tubes FF or Crop Lomo 3.7x

Post by Photocherry »

Hi everyone,

Although I've been reading the threads on here for several months, this is my first time posting. I wanted to say a big hello :smt039 and tell you how amazed I am with all the talent, information and guidance that is on this site wow!!!

I've had a go at focus stacking before but never gone beyond 1:1

Im on a tight budget as I am a mature student just about to start my last year in uni but knowing I will be staying in alot, gives me ample opportunity to practice macro photography.

After reading threads on objectives I found the Lomo 3.7x to be something that was affordable and I wanted to try, and really liked this post

http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/v ... +objective

My macro kit so far consists of the following:

Nikon D90 or D610
Tamron 90mm 1:1
Tamron 70:300 non VR
Lomo 3.7x Objective
RMS adapter
52mm to 52mm male to male adapter
52mm to 52mm female to female adapter
Proxxon KT70 (awaiting delivery)
Cheap focusing rail (£20)
2 x off camera flash
manfrotto tripod
Manfrotto ballhead / geared head

My confusion relates to which camera ( full frame or cropped sensor) I should be using when I finally start coupling everything together and should I purchase bellows or extension tubes to get the desired reach? (which I think is around 150mm from what I read but again i'm not to sure :smt102 )

I have also noted that I need to get an arca swiss clamp to attach my camera to the proxxon aswell as bellows or some kind of extension tubes

The maximum I can spend is £100, I also have an amazon voucher for £30, please could anyone suggest the best way for me to start this new adventure on this tight budget?

Thanks lots

Cherry