www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - The same issue. (solved)
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
The same issue. (solved)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Macro and Micro Technique and Technical Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ChrisR
Site Admin


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 8312
Location: Near London, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So - the problem was light bouncing around inside the "studio"?

Confused
_________________
Chris R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
All Ex



Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 252
Location: Greece Thessaloniki

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was too tight space for the amount of light, the flashes produced.
_________________
All--Ex
My YouTube initial video
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RobertOToole



Joined: 17 Jan 2013
Posts: 1240
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All Ex wrote:
It was too tight space for the amount of light, the flashes produced.


For the future you might want to try Nikon SB-R200 wireless flash units. These have a much lower cost and are much more compact than the full size Nikon flash and they are pretty consistent with light output.

I use a single SB-R200 at 1/8th to 1/64th power for almost all of my studio work. One SB-R200 is almost always enough for plenty of light output.

All the best,

Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
All Ex



Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 252
Location: Greece Thessaloniki

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much, Robert, for your suggestion. For the time being, I am not using the "dark box", at least when I'll begin again. You see I bought a new laptop and except from all my other problems all the USB`s on it are 3.0 and up, the stack shot is only working with USB`s 2.

Just now I`m working with the company`s support team to solve that issue.
_________________
All--Ex
My YouTube initial video
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Grahame



Joined: 30 Sep 2014
Posts: 60
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's weird All Ex.

USB 3 is backwards compatible and will (should) work with any USB 2 device.
Same as a USB 3 device will work in any USB 2 port.

The pins on the plug haven't changed place, just 5 new pins on the back of the plug to handle the extra data speed if they mate with a USB 3 input socket.

Good on the stack shot tecs if they are helping you, I would be really surprised if it was their problem.

As a guess is there a setting in your bios for USB 3 devices that says "support legacy devices" or similar?

Is it ticked?

I'll be interested to see how you sort this one out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
All Ex



Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 252
Location: Greece Thessaloniki

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today I'm posting the controller to the US. I've already talked to the responsible for the inside modification.

It is just the time inconvenience of the journey.


_________________
All--Ex
My YouTube initial video
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Deanimator



Joined: 23 Oct 2012
Posts: 715
Location: Rocky River, Ohio, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grahame wrote:
That's weird All Ex.

USB 3 is backwards compatible and will (should) work with any USB 2 device.
Same as a USB 3 device will work in any USB 2 port.

The pins on the plug haven't changed place, just 5 new pins on the back of the plug to handle the extra data speed if they mate with a USB 3 input socket.

Good on the stack shot tecs if they are helping you, I would be really surprised if it was their problem.

As a guess is there a setting in your bios for USB 3 devices that says "support legacy devices" or similar?

Is it ticked?

I'll be interested to see how you sort this one out.

I work in IT. You would simply be astonished at what arbitrarily won't work with what, sometimes on apparently identical machines.

I've not infrequently had users call with printing issues that were resolved by moving the cable from a USB3 to a USB2 port. Failing that, replacing the cable often does the trick.

USB3 is "backward compatible"... except when it isn't. As often as not, such issues are created by M$ "knowing better" than the IEEE or whomever actually created a standard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
All Ex



Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 252
Location: Greece Thessaloniki

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, from the company, they told me that until they have it in their hands they could not tell me if it`s going to work with my tablet. On the other side, the shipping with the taxing fees that will apply (as the postal company told me) will be about 180-200 euros.
I don`t know what to do.

d'oh!
_________________
All--Ex
My YouTube initial video
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dik



Joined: 22 Sep 2018
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try your Stackshot on a different computer to confirm that is OK. Then, GET A Mac!
_________________
Dik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
All Ex



Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 252
Location: Greece Thessaloniki

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem solved by sending the controller to the States.
it was an issue of its software, sometime during my struggle to make it work, I installed a false one.

_________________
All--Ex
My YouTube initial video
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Macro and Micro Technique and Technical Discussions All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group