macro-rail, micro-processor, nano-steps

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

mawyatt
Posts: 2497
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater, Florida

Post by mawyatt »

Adalbert wrote:Hello Mike,
Have you already measured the size of the wobbles (before and atfer)?
e.g. By the method I tested the backlash (you know with Zerene).
But you should take the photographs along the axis of the movement.
Br, ADi
Adalbert,

No I didn't measure the wobble, but did notice it is definitely periodic. That lead me to believe the wobble is from the rail/stage lateral movement.

My system is completely dismantled now, and probably won't be back to the original setup again anytime soon, I'm working with a different rail system now (THK KR20 type).

That's an easy test for someone to do, since it only requires a few rubber bands and a bolt/screw. I'll have to let others try this out and record the results now. If you look at my post you can see the before and after results.

Best,

Mike

Online
Adalbert
Posts: 2465
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Mike,
OK, and what about the KR20?
A/B, 100/150/200 and your experience.
Br,ADi

mawyatt
Posts: 2497
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater, Florida

Post by mawyatt »

No feedback on THK KR20 yet. Just completed the mounting onto my baseline setup, so maybe in a few more weeks.

Best,

Mike

Online
Adalbert
Posts: 2465
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello everybody,

I have noticed recently that the EOS M3 sometimes (up to 5%) cannot be triggered by my IR controller (based on Arduino).
So, I have just connected a "normal" IR remote controller via a relay.
Image

Image

Then I have searched for the reason of the problem with my IR- controller and found out that the duration of the impulse was too long.
So I have changed its value from 9 to 8 micro-seconds and everything is OK now.

Code: Select all

void Camera::doShot(void)
{
  Serial.println( "impulse-time=" + String(_impulse_time) );
  Serial.println( "signal-time=" + String(_signal_time) );
  
  pinMode(_pinLedIR, OUTPUT);
 
  for &#40;int i = 0; i < 16; i++&#41;
  &#123;
    digitalWrite&#40;_pinLedIR, HIGH&#41;;
    delayMicroseconds&#40;_impulse_time&#41;;       // between 7 and 10 micro-seconds
    digitalWrite&#40;_pinLedIR, LOW&#41;;
    delayMicroseconds&#40;_impulse_time&#41;;
  &#125;
 
  delayMicroseconds&#40;_signal_time&#41;;        // shut immediately
 
  for &#40;int i = 0; i < 16; i++&#41;
  &#123;
    digitalWrite&#40;_pinLedIR, HIGH&#41;;
    delayMicroseconds&#40;_impulse_time&#41;;
    digitalWrite&#40;_pinLedIR, LOW&#41;;
    delayMicroseconds&#40;_impulse_time&#41;;
  &#125;
&#125;



The program has been changed as follows:

Camera * canon = new Camera (11,8,7300); // pin 11 = IR emitter, pulses = 8 microsec; signal = 7300 microsec


BR, ADi

MacroLab3D
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:40 am
Location: Ukraine

Post by MacroLab3D »

Wow... i had the same problem with skipped shots on M3 + UNIVERSAL IR REMOTE from Cognisys. Now after your post (which i found too late) i can assume i should have changed the settings for UNIVERSAL IR REMOTE.
Thanks for the idea!

Update: Just checked settings of UNIVERSAL IR REMOTE and it was set to correct ID1, which is Canon. So... probably problem is still not remote but camera itself?

Online
Adalbert
Posts: 2465
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Oleksandr,
probably problem is still not remote but camera itself?
I have noticed a common problem with IR but it can be solved by the software.
My rail based on the Arduino generates the IR-signal.
If I assemble a new controller I have to find out the delays for the IR-signal because the internal clocking of Arduino is never the same :-(
So, firstly I look for the best parameters in the loop :-)
And I place the IR-diode close to the camera. See the second picture in the following thread:
https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... highlight=

BR, ADi

MacroLab3D
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:40 am
Location: Ukraine

Post by MacroLab3D »

Funny diode you have there ...

...OMG the image is amazing! The best i have seen!
What i noticed on this forum is that this is a black hole information storage where you can get access only through the DIRECT individual links haha.

You know what? I was thinking to buy Mitutoyo 50X 0.55 but after your shot i am thinking about your Oly NeoSPlan 80x / 0.75.

Mind. Blown.

Online
Adalbert
Posts: 2465
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Oleksandr,

Olympus NeoSPlan 80x / 0.75 ULWD produces more CA than Mitutoyo M Plan Apo 50x / 0,55 and its WD=4.1mm :-(

BR, ADi

Online
Adalbert
Posts: 2465
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello everybody,

The version with the TMC5130A you will find in the following thread:
https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... c&start=45

and with THK KR2001A in this thread:
https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... highlight=

BR, ADi

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic