www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - macro-rail, micro-processor, nano-steps
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
macro-rail, micro-processor, nano-steps
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Macro and Micro Technique and Technical Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mawyatt



Joined: 22 Aug 2013
Posts: 2270
Location: Clearwater

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adalbert wrote:
Hello Mike,
Have you already measured the size of the wobbles (before and atfer)?
e.g. By the method I tested the backlash (you know with Zerene).
But you should take the photographs along the axis of the movement.
Br, ADi


Adalbert,

No I didn't measure the wobble, but did notice it is definitely periodic. That lead me to believe the wobble is from the rail/stage lateral movement.

My system is completely dismantled now, and probably won't be back to the original setup again anytime soon, I'm working with a different rail system now (THK KR20 type).

That's an easy test for someone to do, since it only requires a few rubber bands and a bolt/screw. I'll have to let others try this out and record the results now. If you look at my post you can see the before and after results.

Best,

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 856

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Mike,
OK, and what about the KR20?
A/B, 100/150/200 and your experience.
Br,ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mawyatt



Joined: 22 Aug 2013
Posts: 2270
Location: Clearwater

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No feedback on THK KR20 yet. Just completed the mounting onto my baseline setup, so maybe in a few more weeks.

Best,

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 856

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello everybody,

I have noticed recently that the EOS M3 sometimes (up to 5%) cannot be triggered by my IR controller (based on Arduino).
So, I have just connected a "normal" IR remote controller via a relay.




Then I have searched for the reason of the problem with my IR- controller and found out that the duration of the impulse was too long.
So I have changed its value from 9 to 8 micro-seconds and everything is OK now.

Code:

void Camera::doShot(void)
{
  Serial.println( "impulse-time=" + String(_impulse_time) );
  Serial.println( "signal-time=" + String(_signal_time) );
 
  pinMode(_pinLedIR, OUTPUT);
 
  for (int i = 0; i < 16; i++)
  {
    digitalWrite(_pinLedIR, HIGH);
    delayMicroseconds(_impulse_time);       // between 7 and 10 micro-seconds
    digitalWrite(_pinLedIR, LOW);
    delayMicroseconds(_impulse_time);
  }
 
  delayMicroseconds(_signal_time);        // shut immediately
 
  for (int i = 0; i < 16; i++)
  {
    digitalWrite(_pinLedIR, HIGH);
    delayMicroseconds(_impulse_time);
    digitalWrite(_pinLedIR, LOW);
    delayMicroseconds(_impulse_time);
  }
}





The program has been changed as follows:

Camera * canon = new Camera (11,8,7300); // pin 11 = IR emitter, pulses = 8 microsec; signal = 7300 microsec


BR, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MacroLab3D



Joined: 31 Jan 2017
Posts: 93
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2020 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow... i had the same problem with skipped shots on M3 + UNIVERSAL IR REMOTE from Cognisys. Now after your post (which i found too late) i can assume i should have changed the settings for UNIVERSAL IR REMOTE.
Thanks for the idea!

Update: Just checked settings of UNIVERSAL IR REMOTE and it was set to correct ID1, which is Canon. So... probably problem is still not remote but camera itself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 856

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2020 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Oleksandr,
Quote:
probably problem is still not remote but camera itself?

I have noticed a common problem with IR but it can be solved by the software.
My rail based on the Arduino generates the IR-signal.
If I assemble a new controller I have to find out the delays for the IR-signal because the internal clocking of Arduino is never the same Sad
So, firstly I look for the best parameters in the loop :-)
And I place the IR-diode close to the camera. See the second picture in the following thread:
https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=40699&highlight=

BR, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MacroLab3D



Joined: 31 Jan 2017
Posts: 93
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2020 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Funny diode you have there ...

...OMG the image is amazing! The best i have seen!
What i noticed on this forum is that this is a black hole information storage where you can get access only through the DIRECT individual links haha.

You know what? I was thinking to buy Mitutoyo 50X 0.55 but after your shot i am thinking about your Oly NeoSPlan 80x / 0.75.

Mind. Blown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adalbert



Joined: 30 Nov 2015
Posts: 856

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Oleksandr,

Olympus NeoSPlan 80x / 0.75 ULWD produces more CA than Mitutoyo M Plan Apo 50x / 0,55 and its WD=4.1mm Sad

BR, ADi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Macro and Micro Technique and Technical Discussions All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Page 6 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group