Photography through microscope: lack of sharpness

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

nielsgeode

Photography through microscope: lack of sharpness

Post by nielsgeode »

I managed to get my hands on a second hand microscope for a bargain. If you look through it, the view is extremely sharp and really good with lots of visible detail.

When I connect my camera with an adapter and photograph using a photo eyepiece, the images are not nearly as sharp as what I see when I look directly through the microscope. I focus using magnified live view on my PC.

The photos through the microscope were made using a Zeiss Plan 6.3x / NA 0.16 objective and an Olympus FK 3.3x photo eyepiece.

Here is an image of the microscope.

Here is a sample image with a 100% crop:

I am quite new to this kind of 'stuff' so I have not really an idea what is happening here. Help is highly appreciated.

Pau
Site Admin

Post by Pau »

A nice old Zeiss GFL :D

Very likely the Oly FK is not well matched with the Zeiss for two reasons:

- The amount of compensation is different: I can see lateral chromatic aberration, most visible at the lower left corner (but this will not affect much the central area sharpness). This could be more or less corrected in post processing, best shooting RAW, that also will allow you to fine tune the color temperature

- The 3.3X magnification is too high, in particular if you use APSC or smaller sensor. For FF the recommended magnification is 2.5X and for APSC 1.6X. This will lead to magnify too much the central area, so the sharpness will be lower, much more noticeable if you use high magnification objectives.

The best way to couple the camera with those microscopes is usually the afocal method using Zeiss KPL eyepieces:
http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/v ... 9265#99265