Bellow Help!

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Marcio

Bellow Help!

Post by Marcio »

I have a Novoflex bellow M42. What do I need to get from the front of the Novoflex bellow to mount an EL-Nikkor 50mm f/2.8 enlarging lens?

I need the exact specifications as I am a beginner.

Thank!

Pau
Site Admin

Post by Pau »

Because for macro work enlarger lenses work better reversed, you need a reversing ring with two male trheads, one M42 and the other with the filter diameter of your lens, I can't specify more because there are different sizes. If you don't find the exact one, you can buy a reversing ring and some step up or step down filter adapter rings. These adapters are usualy available for little money in eBay form chinese sellers.
Pau

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Marcio, welcome aboard.

As Pau says, you need two things:

1. an M42 "reverse adapter", such as the M42-MACRO-REVERSE-ADAPTER-RING-55mm

2. one or two "step up" ring(s) to fit between the reverse adapter and the front of the enlarging lens. Many of the EL Nikkor 50 mm f/2.8 lenses have a 40.5 mm front thread, but there are other sizes so measure to be sure. The 40.5 mm thread will measure as about 40 mm inside diameter; other sizes will be off by the same 0.5 mm difference. Given the 55 mm reverse adapter noted above, you would need a pair of rings such as 40.5mm to 52mm and 52mm to 55mm.

I do not know anything about the specific eBay vendors at those links. These parts are entirely mechanical so any units with the same specs should work fine.

--Rik

Craig Gerard

Post by Craig Gerard »

The EL-Nikkor 50mm/f2.8 (both the older and the more recent versions) have a 40.5mm filter thread on front of the lens.

Best to use it reverse-mounted as already mentioned.