Lens flare / glare or hotspot?

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Mogie

Lens flare / glare or hotspot?

Post by Mogie »

Hello all! I'm relatively new to microscopic photography but familiar with photography. I've been shooting on a microscope for a while now and am getting increasingly annoyed with a central hotspot in my images. I've tried changing my lighting from underneath to above but that seems to have made little difference. I'm starting to think it has something to do with light bouncing around in the microscope optics. I've attached an example image. I'm sure this must be quite a widespread problem and easily overcome. Any help would be much appreciated.Image

Craig Gerard

Post by Craig Gerard »

Mogie,

Which method are you using for attaching the camera to the scope?

That is a pronounced hotspot. I can understand your annoyance.

Craig
To use a classic quote from 'Antz' - "I almost know exactly what I'm doing!"

Mogie

Post by Mogie »

Hi Craig,

Thanks for the reply. I'm using a Nikon D300 attached to a Apex Practitioner. I've attached the camera to the microscope using what's called the Apex Snapper. It clicks onto the front of my camera as a lens would and once the Microscopes eyepiece is removed screws into place. Here is a link to the product.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Apex-Snappe ... 774&sr=8-1

Cheers
James

Craig Gerard

Post by Craig Gerard »

Mogie,

Does the 'snapper' have a lense of some description inside? It appears to use the scope viewing eyepiece inside the 'snapper'?

If you remove the camera and look down into the 'snapper' can you see any internal reflections.

Is this your scope?
http://www.apexmicroscopes.co.uk/apexpractitioner.html
http://www.apexmicroscopes.co.uk/apexsnapper.html

Craig