I'm a Newb, I know it, and I need some help :)

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

justinduke

I'm a Newb, I know it, and I need some help :)

Post by justinduke »

Well, title says all.

I am really interested in getting started and I am looking for some direction on what things I need to purchase to get going.

I have a Nikon D50, and I will be purchasing a Compound Microscope soon, but am looking for some direction on what kind / brand to purchase. Obviously it will need to hook up to the D50 and so I'm looking for some advice on what I will need.

Im looking to be able to hook it up and be successful. If my wife finds out how much money I spent and I get a blurry picture, then my hobby won't last too long. So is it possible to get started with around $500.00 for a microsope and attachements for a D50, or is that just not going to cut it?

Thanks in advance for the help :)

Justin

NikonUser

Post by NikonUser »

I read a lot on this site about members having difficulty with photography through a microscope.
I recently bought an Olympus BH2 scope with a trinocular head.
It came with an essential NFK photoeyepiece in the phototube.
I simply suspended my D90 above the eyepiece such that the camera sensor was 125 mm from the top of the eyepiece.
Not much could be easier.
Unfortunately, $500.00 would not even buy you a BH2 frame.
For a functional trinocular BH2 your looking at $1500-$5000 depending on lenses.

MY SETUP HERE
NU.
student of entomology
Quote – Holmes on ‘Entomology’
” I suppose you are an entomologist ? “
” Not quite so ambitious as that, sir. I should like to put my eyes on the individual entitled to that name.
No man can be truly called an entomologist,
sir; the subject is too vast for any single human intelligence to grasp.”
Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr
The Poet at the Breakfast Table.