How to create 3D with Zerene ?

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Adalbert
Posts: 2564
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

How to create 3D with Zerene ?

Post by Adalbert »

Hello everyone,

I have been asked to create a 3D image.
Since I have never done this before,
I simply have used the standard settings
and prepared it in the following way:

1.) Options -> Preferences -> Stereo/Rocking = enabled
2.) Stack -> Align & Stack All (PMAx)
3.) Tools -> Stereo -> Start Preview
4.) Tools -> Stereo -> Stop Preview
5.) Tools -> Stereo -> Make Stereo Pair(s) from Slab 1 PMax_001 and Slab 1 PMax_002
6.) File -> Save Output Image(s) Slab 4 stereo_000

The file created looks like this and does not appear to be in stereo.
I can't check this myself, but I was told that there is no 3D effect.
Slab_4_stereo_000.jpg
What have I done wrong?
Many thanks in advance.

Best, ADi

Pau
Site Admin
Posts: 6120
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:57 am
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: How to create 3D with Zerene ?

Post by Pau »

I can't check this myself, but I was told that there is no 3D effect.
Are you unable to see stereo? In this case it will be more difficult.

Both images look identical (actually they are almost identical, not showing angle difference)

Rik will answer much better, of course

This is what I do:
In preferences I set at least 6 output images, Shift X +5 -5
Then, save and stack with the preferred method
While having the preview activated test a pair of images that show good stereo, in the former case they could be for example 002 and 004_1, always better to check different combinations
Clicking "swap sides" changes between parallel and cross-eye
Finally, Stop preview and Make stereo pair(s)
Pau

Adalbert
Posts: 2564
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: How to create 3D with Zerene ?

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Pau,
Yes, I cannot cross the eyes :-(
Actually I wanted to create 3D in red / cyan, but I haven't found this option in Zerene.
With another tool I can create such 3D image based on my photos:
Image
https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/519 ... 4b87_o.png
Best, ADi

Pau
Site Admin
Posts: 6120
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:57 am
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: How to create 3D with Zerene ?

Post by Pau »

It looks superb.
Yes, I cannot cross the eyes :-(
Me neither, I use mirror eyeglasses "3D viewer" to view parallel stereos. I convert the usual cross eye stereos to parallel with the free software StereoPhotoMaker, maybe the tool you used to generate the red/cyan stereo
Pau

rjlittlefield
Site Admin
Posts: 23834
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:34 am
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: How to create 3D with Zerene ?

Post by rjlittlefield »

There is no red/cyan display in Zerene Stacker.

If you can't see side-by-side stereo, then inside Zerene Stacker the best workaround is to repeatedly click the Swap Sides button in the toolbar. That will alternate between left and right views in each window. If the off-axis views have been properly constructed, the subject will appear to rotate slightly each time the Swap Sides button is pressed.

The method described by Pau, stepping shift from -5% to +5%, works well even when I don't know values for magnification and step size. It is the method that I used to use all the time.

However, what I do now for most studio stacks is to use the Stereo Calculator, described at https://zerenesystems.com/cms/stacker/d ... wing_angle . That way I just enter values for sensor size, magnification, step size, number of frames, and a desired viewing angle, and the calculator crunches the numbers to come up with the corresponding percent shift. Typically I use plus and minus the shift value for 4 degrees angle off axis. That gives me 8 degrees between eyes, which corresponds to what a typical stereo microscope would give.

For some flattish subjects I increase the shift value so as to accentuate depth, and in case of troublesome subjects sometimes I decrease the shift value to reduce stacking artifacts. But most of the time I'm happy with what the calculator gives for +-4 degrees.

--Rik

Adalbert
Posts: 2564
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: How to create 3D with Zerene ?

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Rik,
Many thanks for the info!
Best, ADi

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic