macro-rail, micro-processor, nano-steps

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: ChrisR, Chris S., Pau, rjlittlefield

mawyatt
Posts: 2469
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater

Post by mawyatt »

Adalbert wrote:Hello Mike,
Have you already measured the size of the wobbles (before and atfer)?
e.g. By the method I tested the backlash (you know with Zerene).
But you should take the photographs along the axis of the movement.
Br, ADi
Adalbert,

No I didn't measure the wobble, but did notice it is definitely periodic. That lead me to believe the wobble is from the rail/stage lateral movement.

My system is completely dismantled now, and probably won't be back to the original setup again anytime soon, I'm working with a different rail system now (THK KR20 type).

That's an easy test for someone to do, since it only requires a few rubber bands and a bolt/screw. I'll have to let others try this out and record the results now. If you look at my post you can see the before and after results.

Best,

Mike

Adalbert
Posts: 1074
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Mike,
OK, and what about the KR20?
A/B, 100/150/200 and your experience.
Br,ADi

mawyatt
Posts: 2469
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater

Post by mawyatt »

No feedback on THK KR20 yet. Just completed the mounting onto my baseline setup, so maybe in a few more weeks.

Best,

Mike

Adalbert
Posts: 1074
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello everybody,

I have noticed recently that the EOS M3 sometimes (up to 5%) cannot be triggered by my IR controller (based on Arduino).
So, I have just connected a "normal" IR remote controller via a relay.
Image

Image

Then I have searched for the reason of the problem with my IR- controller and found out that the duration of the impulse was too long.
So I have changed its value from 9 to 8 micro-seconds and everything is OK now.

Code: Select all

void Camera::doShot(void)
{
  Serial.println( "impulse-time=" + String(_impulse_time) );
  Serial.println( "signal-time=" + String(_signal_time) );
  
  pinMode(_pinLedIR, OUTPUT);
 
  for &#40;int i = 0; i < 16; i++&#41;
  &#123;
    digitalWrite&#40;_pinLedIR, HIGH&#41;;
    delayMicroseconds&#40;_impulse_time&#41;;       // between 7 and 10 micro-seconds
    digitalWrite&#40;_pinLedIR, LOW&#41;;
    delayMicroseconds&#40;_impulse_time&#41;;
  &#125;
 
  delayMicroseconds&#40;_signal_time&#41;;        // shut immediately
 
  for &#40;int i = 0; i < 16; i++&#41;
  &#123;
    digitalWrite&#40;_pinLedIR, HIGH&#41;;
    delayMicroseconds&#40;_impulse_time&#41;;
    digitalWrite&#40;_pinLedIR, LOW&#41;;
    delayMicroseconds&#40;_impulse_time&#41;;
  &#125;
&#125;



The program has been changed as follows:

Camera * canon = new Camera (11,8,7300); // pin 11 = IR emitter, pulses = 8 microsec; signal = 7300 microsec


BR, ADi

MacroLab3D
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:40 am
Location: Ukraine

Post by MacroLab3D »

Wow... i had the same problem with skipped shots on M3 + UNIVERSAL IR REMOTE from Cognisys. Now after your post (which i found too late) i can assume i should have changed the settings for UNIVERSAL IR REMOTE.
Thanks for the idea!

Update: Just checked settings of UNIVERSAL IR REMOTE and it was set to correct ID1, which is Canon. So... probably problem is still not remote but camera itself?

Adalbert
Posts: 1074
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Oleksandr,
probably problem is still not remote but camera itself?
I have noticed a common problem with IR but it can be solved by the software.
My rail based on the Arduino generates the IR-signal.
If I assemble a new controller I have to find out the delays for the IR-signal because the internal clocking of Arduino is never the same :-(
So, firstly I look for the best parameters in the loop :-)
And I place the IR-diode close to the camera. See the second picture in the following thread:
https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... highlight=

BR, ADi

MacroLab3D
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:40 am
Location: Ukraine

Post by MacroLab3D »

Funny diode you have there ...

...OMG the image is amazing! The best i have seen!
What i noticed on this forum is that this is a black hole information storage where you can get access only through the DIRECT individual links haha.

You know what? I was thinking to buy Mitutoyo 50X 0.55 but after your shot i am thinking about your Oly NeoSPlan 80x / 0.75.

Mind. Blown.

Adalbert
Posts: 1074
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Oleksandr,

Olympus NeoSPlan 80x / 0.75 ULWD produces more CA than Mitutoyo M Plan Apo 50x / 0,55 and its WD=4.1mm :-(

BR, ADi

Adalbert
Posts: 1074
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello everybody,

The version with the TMC5130A you will find in the following thread:
https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... c&start=45

and with THK KR2001A in this thread:
https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... highlight=

BR, ADi

Post Reply