www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - Mitutoyo + raynox and olympus omd em 1 mk2 (crop x2)
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Mitutoyo + raynox and olympus omd em 1 mk2 (crop x2)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Equipment Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pu5z3k



Joined: 23 Apr 2011
Posts: 22
Location: poland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:27 am    Post subject: Mitutoyo + raynox and olympus omd em 1 mk2 (crop x2) Reply with quote

Hello,
I start using mentioned setup in topic for my studio photography, but i found out that i have problem with photo resolution/sharpness

Now i try two methods (both raynox dcr 150 mounted reversed)
1. lens raynox (tube lens) close as possible to the mitutoyo and 200mm bellows
2. tube lens mounted in distance 50mm between raynox and mitutoyo, and aprox 150 of bellows ?

This way of stacking is okay ? or should i change something in fact that i am using 2x crop factor sensor ?

i am a bit confused thats why i try to find answer.

Maybe the better way is to don't revers the raynox ?
Help pls :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SebastianFg



Joined: 09 Oct 2017
Posts: 15
Location: Freiberg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
There can be varoius reasons for unsharp pictures.
The most common one is stability (Vibration issues).
Maybe a picture that shows your setup and one picture that show your issues can help to better understand where the problem is.
Best regards,
Sebastian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pu5z3k



Joined: 23 Apr 2011
Posts: 22
Location: poland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no no for 100% we can exclude the vibration problem

the problem for sure is with setting up the tube lens and lenght of the mitutoyo

with sony a7rII problem is less visible
maybe the problem is now that in fact of the crop i have 20x magnification on 10x lens ?
here u can find my diy setup:

horizontal, and vertical


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pau
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Jan 2010
Posts: 4709
Location: Valencia, Spain

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:54 am    Post subject: Re: Mitutoyo + raynox and olympus omd em 1 mk2 (crop x2) Reply with quote

pu5z3k wrote:

Now i try two methods (both raynox dcr 150 mounted reversed)
1. lens raynox (tube lens) close as possible to the mitutoyo and 200mm bellows
2. tube lens mounted in distance 50mm between raynox and mitutoyo, and aprox 150 of bellows ?

In all cases the best position of the tube lens is the one where it is focused to infinite. Do it without the objective focusing a distant object.
It will be approximately from the center of the tube lens to 208mm of the sensor, not to the camera mount, but better do it focusing.
The distance between the objective and tube lens is less critical although there may be a sweet spot.
There are lots of threads on this subjects at the forum, some relevant ones:
http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=218999#218999
http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=236556#236556
_________________
Pau
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lou Jost



Joined: 04 Sep 2015
Posts: 3242
Location: Ecuador

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another great reference is Robert O'Toole's blog post:
https://www.closeuphotography.com/raynox-tube-lens
_________________
Lou Jost
www.ecomingafoundation.wordpress.com
www.loujost.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SebastianFg



Joined: 09 Oct 2017
Posts: 15
Location: Freiberg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

10x magnification stays 10x magnification, doesn’t matter which sensor you use. Just the recorded field of view is smaller using M3/4.
To be honest, your setups look really unstable with lots of possibilities where vibrations can be a real issue. A tube lens does not have to be at infinity (Robert shows that quite impressively)
But always calculate the distance from sensor to tubelens.
Best regards,
Sebastian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisR
Site Admin


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 8231
Location: Near London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

About the only way to be sure that there are no vibrations is to try with short-duration flash and look for a difference.
If you tell us your camera/exposure details, they may be relevant too?
You may be missing something, it's easy to do.

The distance between the objective and the "tube" lens only makes small differences in most cases, visible only in comparisons.
_________________
Chris R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pu5z3k



Joined: 23 Apr 2011
Posts: 22
Location: poland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok thanks for your support

and yeah you right i double check the vibration problem and its fine with it
(compared between flash and cont. light) - only difference is in contrast.

Yesterday i order flock but just in case of any light "inside" the setup.

One month ago i play with changing position raynox and is change resolution very visible - thats why now i am confused.

Usually i didnt think about this - but now i just wanna make sure that i use my setup in 100%

i try to catch some insect (propably fly) and will present some test and than you can judge there is problem or not
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisR
Site Admin


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 8231
Location: Near London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In that case, I hope you don't have the problem of a bad Mitutoyo, such as here:
Another Mitutoyo returned: www.photomacrography.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=244532
_________________
Chris R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mawyatt



Joined: 22 Aug 2013
Posts: 1829
Location: Clearwater

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice setups. Looks like you have 3 Arduino controllers in the box, is this for 3 axis control?

The Wemacro Vertical Stand is a nice vertical stand I use often. I've modified mine to improve the vertical bar stiffness to help with vibration by adding a long bolt and washer. The bolt mounts thru the bottom plate, which has a hole drilled to align with the center of the 40mm square vertical bar. The bar center hole is then threaded for a deep thread for the long bolt. This doesn't cost much and works well.



Best,
_________________
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iconoclastica



Joined: 25 Jun 2016
Posts: 159
Location: Wageningen, Gelderland

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it the consensus now that the Raynox be used in non-reversed position?

Wim
_________________
--- felix filicis ---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pu5z3k



Joined: 23 Apr 2011
Posts: 22
Location: poland

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for reply,

yes i have also WeMacro table and setup - but i made my own one (much stable in my opinion ofc Rolling Eyes )
so in this moment i have two tables

and yes i made my own XYZ arduino subject positioner - i can share pcb making and arduino code

there is keyboard for fast and slow changing position with 3 directions

getting back to the point i did a test what Chris told me to check

and result are smth like that:




so i order black flock to make sure there is no light inside ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Equipment Discussions All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group