www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - Heavy duty copy stand?
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Heavy duty copy stand?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Equipment Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ray_parkhurst



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 1833
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:41 am    Post subject: Re: Heavy duty copy stand? Reply with quote

JKT wrote:
blades wrote:
I looked at the Kaiser RS2 but found it a little flimsy for my needs.


Why not R1 system? Those are pretty stable - at least mine is. I skipped R2 as too flimsy too.


Hmm, didn't know the RS1 was more stable than RS2. Do you know the reason? Is it the base, or the clamp, or??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JKT



Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 25
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The vertical column has larger outside dimensions, which naturally affects most other parts as well.

Edit:

The outside dimensions for different Kaiser system columns seem to be:
120 x 80 for RePro
105 x 74 for RD
70 x 35 for R1 & eVision
35 x ??? for R2

They may look similar in picture, but there's quite a difference in stiffness... Very Happy


Last edited by JKT on Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pitufo



Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 213
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an RS2 and it has been great - even at quite high magnifications. EDIT: an error - it is an RS1 I have.

I also have a Zeiss (some type of compact measuring microscope, I think?) which I may part with. It is not very tall but very heavy. I thought I might build something with it myself with an Olympus camera.

It is very heavy.

(in Newcastle upon Tyne but I may be visiting Aberdeen at the end of Jan).

P.S. There are a couple of 150W Halogen arms to go with my RS1 if anyone interested. One looks in good working order, the other not.


Last edited by Pitufo on Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:36 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ray_parkhurst



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 1833
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JKT wrote:
The vertical rail has larger outside dimensions, which naturally affects most other parts as well.

Edit:

The outside dimensions for different Kaiser system columns seem to be:
120 x 80 for RePro
105 x 74 for RD
70 x 35 for R1 & eVision
35 x ??? for R2

They may look similar in picture, but there's quite a difference in stiffness... Very Happy


Yes, they do look similar in pictures, though I have not seen pics of the RD or RePro. Never owned one, but have always heard from other coin photogs that they are good, but not sure which model they use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pitufo



Joined: 21 Jun 2015
Posts: 213
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made a mistake earlier - it is the RS1 I have.

(base is 50 x 45 cm).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjkzz



Joined: 01 Jul 2015
Posts: 1008
Location: California/Shenzhen

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used a granite block for some kind of measurement test, it comes with a steel rod, 5cm in diameter (a little less, as most Chinese product make exaggerated claims), but it is so sturdy, I think you can replace the rod, too.

You can get them on eBay:

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odkw=measurement+stand&_osacat=0&_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=measurement+granite+stand&_sacat=0

Note the first few, but those with large granite block. You can customize it if you want to, to fit your needs.
_________________
https://www.facebook.com/groups/mjkzzfs/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ray_parkhurst



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 1833
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I completed a working system with the "copy stand" concept:

6" x 12" composite base
24" t-slot column
48cm ARCA plate
Vivitar bellows mounted on ARCA clamps

I installed a manual 60x60mm Z-stage for fine focusing, and would plan on using the mjkzz VCM system as an add-on for focus stacking. I will put one of these together, test, and post some results here, but I don't see any reason it shouldn't work perfectly.

Note that this system is tailored for coin photography, and with a 75mm lens (Nikon, Tominon, Rodenstock) can frame up to 80x120mm, which is big enough to frame a coin in a graded 'slab'. It can also of course go down to as small as desired. I did try it with a 50mm Tominon and could get to 4x with reasonable (web quality) IQ.

And the bottom line...it's as stable as my current (and more custom/labor intensive) setup! The single-bolt attachment really does the job well, and puts uniform pressure from the flat-finished end of the column against the hard composite material surface.

I highly recommend this method.

Here's a pic of the system:

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mjkzz



Joined: 01 Jul 2015
Posts: 1008
Location: California/Shenzhen

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ray_parkhurst wrote:
I completed a working system with the "copy stand" concept:

6" x 12" composite base
24" t-slot column
48cm ARCA plate
Vivitar bellows mounted on ARCA clamps

I installed a manual 60x60mm Z-stage for fine focusing, and would plan on using the mjkzz VCM system as an add-on for focus stacking. I will put one of these together, test, and post some results here, but I don't see any reason it shouldn't work perfectly.

Note that this system is tailored for coin photography, and with a 75mm lens (Nikon, Tominon, Rodenstock) can frame up to 80x120mm, which is big enough to frame a coin in a graded 'slab'. It can also of course go down to as small as desired. I did try it with a 50mm Tominon and could get to 4x with reasonable (web quality) IQ.

And the bottom line...it's as stable as my current (and more custom/labor intensive) setup! The single-bolt attachment really does the job well, and puts uniform pressure from the flat-finished end of the column against the hard composite material surface.

I highly recommend this method.

Here's a pic of the system:



wow, very nice!

But be honest to you, I could never get such system work myself, even with the granite stand, I have to mount the camera at the base, close to granite and put the whole thing at edge of a table, with camera pointing down the edge (not surface of granite), essentially elevate the setup. And even this, I have to keep the camera still and move the subject.
_________________
https://www.facebook.com/groups/mjkzzfs/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mawyatt



Joined: 22 Aug 2013
Posts: 1779
Location: Clearwater

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ray,

Nice!! Are you attaching the ARCA plate to the vertical bar with "T" nuts?

Best,
_________________
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ray_parkhurst



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 1833
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mawyatt wrote:
Ray,

Nice!! Are you attaching the ARCA plate to the vertical bar with "T" nuts?

Best,


Yes, I used 2 T nuts but I will probably end up using 4. The plate has a little flex and it would be good to tie it down in more places.

The 480mm plate is shorter than the 24" column, so it can/must be strategically placed to give the right combo of "close enough" for highest magnification, and "far enough" for biggest field. It can also be moved fairly easily if one direction is favored.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Equipment Discussions All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group