Which Version of Zerene?

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: Chris S., Pau, rjlittlefield, ChrisR

Deanimator
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Rocky River, Ohio, U.S.A.

Which Version of Zerene?

Post by Deanimator »

I just accepted a job offer today and will soon be able to afford Zerene so that I can retire CombineZP.

I'm strictly a novice at stacking, although I started out with a PAINFULLY difficult subject for a beginner.

Which version of Zerene should I start out with?

Is the Personal version sufficient for somebody at my level of expertise?

rjlittlefield
Site Admin
Posts: 20748
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:34 am
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA
Contact:

Post by rjlittlefield »

Personal Edition should have everything you need. The capabilities now provided in Personal Edition are more than any edition provided for a long time (several years). Prosumer Edition provides additional features that add convenience and speed (see the list HERE), but with rare exceptions those features do not affect final image quality. In any case the advanced features are available for 30-day trial in Personal Edition (separate trial period for each feature), and if you do decide at some point that they are worth upgrading, then you can do that for just the difference in list prices. So, aside from a bit of extra time to exchange emails if you upgrade later, there's no penalty for starting with Personal.

--Rik

Deanimator
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Rocky River, Ohio, U.S.A.

Post by Deanimator »

rjlittlefield wrote:Personal Edition should have everything you need.
Thanks for the information.

I'll be ordering the Personal Edition as soon as things get nailed down jobwise.

Lou Jost
Posts: 4338
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 7:03 am
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Post by Lou Jost »

Congratulations on your new job, Deanimator.

Deanimator
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Rocky River, Ohio, U.S.A.

Post by Deanimator »

Lou Jost wrote:Congratulations on your new job, Deanimator.
Thanks.

Deanimator
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Rocky River, Ohio, U.S.A.

Post by Deanimator »

I got my upgraded memory installed last night and have 24gb now.

I tried CombineZP just as a test last night. I'm not sure if it was any faster. If it was, it wasn't by much, but then I have to run it in XP emulation mode and with minimal memory configuration, so I'm not surprised it's still slow.

I should be getting Zerene on payday this week.

Chris S.
Site Admin
Posts: 3488
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:55 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Post by Chris S. »

Deanimator, you probably know this, but just in case: You can download Zerene Stacker as a limited-time trial, then when you purchase your license, enter your license key to keep it working. This way, you won't have to wait until payday.

But this is likely old news to you.

--Chris S.

Deanimator
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Rocky River, Ohio, U.S.A.

Post by Deanimator »

Chris S. wrote:Deanimator, you probably know this, but just in case: You can download Zerene Stacker as a limited-time trial, then when you purchase your license, enter your license key to keep it working. This way, you won't have to wait until payday.

But this is likely old news to you.

--Chris S.
My first payday's tomorrow. I bought my personal license a few minutes ago and am running my first stack right now. I'm not even done yet, and it looks like it's a hundred times faster than CombineZP.

We'll see what happens.

Deanimator
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Rocky River, Ohio, U.S.A.

Post by Deanimator »

My first stack with Zerene:

Image

I am suitably impressed!

Deanimator
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Rocky River, Ohio, U.S.A.

Post by Deanimator »

My third new stack with Zerene:

Image

ChrisR
Site Admin
Posts: 8521
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:58 am
Location: Near London, UK

Post by ChrisR »

Congratulations!
What are you getting for a per-image time? I remember with the old XP box it was about a minute.
Chris R

Deanimator
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Rocky River, Ohio, U.S.A.

Post by Deanimator »

ChrisR wrote:Congratulations!
What are you getting for a per-image time? I remember with the old XP box it was about a minute.
Are you speaking in terms of a complete stack, or how long it takes per image in the stack?

ChrisR
Site Admin
Posts: 8521
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:58 am
Location: Near London, UK

Post by ChrisR »

One way is Per image, by looking at the (Options)Console Log.
It says "Done with frame #_"
So you can work from the times (seconds) on the left.
They vary quite a bit (for me) so you can do an average over say 5 frames.

If you do (say) Pmax then repeat it, after the first run there's no realigning so it's quicker.
Chris R

Deanimator
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:01 pm
Location: Rocky River, Ohio, U.S.A.

Post by Deanimator »

ChrisR wrote:One way is Per image, by looking at the (Options)Console Log.
It says "Done with frame #_"
So you can work from the times (seconds) on the left.
They vary quite a bit (for me) so you can do an average over say 5 frames.

If you do (say) Pmax then repeat it, after the first run there's no realigning so it's quicker.
I wasn't clear on what you meant at first.

I'd say that on the first go through, it's something like five seconds per slice. I'll have to take a closer look at it.

ChrisR
Site Admin
Posts: 8521
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:58 am
Location: Near London, UK

Post by ChrisR »

That's not bad for the first run.
NB it depends opn frame size, (MP) not bytes or jpec vs tiff.
Chris R

Post Reply