Sorry for the newbie question !

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Perfekto

Sorry for the newbie question !

Post by Perfekto »

Bonjour, from France,

I am trying to put together the list of equipment I need to make a (self-funded) film with only microscopic actors.
I am already making a film with only insects that I shot in the Philippines jungle. So I am familiar with cameras and the challenges of macro videography.
But I am a complete newbie in mater of microvideography. This is why I need your help choosing the proper equipment. I am also aware equipment is only a fraction of the situation, but I really can't afford accidentally buying stuff that will produce bad results or that I won't even use !

My number one goal is to achieve 4K video shots that are visually aesthetically pleasing. I was very admirative of the work of these artists: Craig Smith, Mike Roscope, or also Marek Mis. These are the kinds of results I am aiming for, if I manage to learn enough to reach these levels of talent. I am just giving this information as pointers so you can better advise me equipment-wise.

My camera is a Lumix GH-4, so it is Micro 4/3 and films in 4K. I have a Metabones Canon EF Lens to Micro Four Thirds Adapter for it as well (no optics), since I usually film with a Canon 100mm and some tubes. It's beautiful. I don't own a telephoto.

I have talked to several micro videographers already, including some mentioned above, and gathered some precious information, such as M Plan Apo objectives being my best bet for magnifications above X5. The brand Mitutoyo came back often as well. What do you think ?

What I am looking for, is :
- a list of ingredients (parts) I need in order to film through a microscope, I am still a bit confused about how the exact setup works