comparison

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

robirdman

comparison

Post by robirdman »

As I am just a beginner starting, and this is only my second attempt, I would appreciate comments on carefully comparing these 2 images, and what I should look for to judge which procedure to use, and what might improve.

Nikon D4 200mm macro w/close-up F32, 1/3" ISO 160 3R1 flashes with a little translucent packing material over them.

Thanks for any advice.

Last edited by robirdman on Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

NikonUser

Post by NikonUser »

Try f/8 rather than f/32.
Make sure that at least the head of the pin is in focus
ISO 100 or less
NU.
student of entomology
Quote – Holmes on ‘Entomology’
” I suppose you are an entomologist ? “
” Not quite so ambitious as that, sir. I should like to put my eyes on the individual entitled to that name.
No man can be truly called an entomologist,
sir; the subject is too vast for any single human intelligence to grasp.”
Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr
The Poet at the Breakfast Table.

Nikon camera, lenses and objectives
Olympus microscope and objectives

robirdman

Post by robirdman »

I added a 3rd method. I had intended to clone one side to the other to get rid of the pin in a final image. I would have to add many times the number of images to get the pin in focus wouldn't I? If I did so would it then get the areas around the pin in focus, and only having a small blur?

Besides improving technique, I am interested in noting differences among the 3 results.

F8 with way more than 26 stops? I could use a faster shutter then, even at 100 ISO. thanks. I've seen your amazing images and hope to approach eventually.

Olympusman

f8

Post by Olympusman »