Introduction and quick question

Lets get to know each other better. Here's a forum to post images and short autobiographies of ourselves as well as any other info you would like to post about yourself.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

JSkory

Introduction and quick question

Post by JSkory »

Hello,

I've been lurking for a little while and just registered today. My name is Jeff Skory and I am new to macro photography. I bought myself a pretty nice stereo microscope with a camera and have been taking pictures for a little over a month now. I also bought a copy of Helicon Focus 7 after playing around with a few different stacking programs.

I was putting my photos up on Google Photos to share with friends and family but it has a lot of limitation in that you can't really write anything about it. So I have started a blog and have quite a few pictures and descriptions posted on there so far. The blog can be found at jeffskory.com if you are interested. I'll be posting pictures here as well as time goes on to get feedback from you guys.

So to start things off I have a quick question which many of you experts can probably help me with. Below are a few stacked photos I made of a fly I found. I would like to be able to identify what it is. Having looked through my Peterson Field Guide to Insects of North America I think it probably belongs to the crane fly family Tipulidae, but the book really doesn't go much beyond this other than to say there are over 1500 species in North America.

What are some good resources I could make use of to get a little closer to identifying this little guy, and future insects I will run across once our weather warms up again? Books, websites, etc.

(Stacked with Helicon using 12 images)

(stacked from 27 images)

(stacked from 34 images)