Various Seed Pods

Images taken in a controlled environment or with a posed subject. All subject types.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

JSkory

Various Seed Pods

Post by JSkory »

Hello again. Thought I would share a few of my pictures. As I mentioned in my earlier post I am still quite new at this game. I am using a stereo microscope, basically the same as AmScope but with a different brand, along with a 28MP camera and I use Helicon Focus 7 for stacking.
Here are some various seed pods I picked up in the woods behind our house.

All comments and criticism are welcome - it's the best way to learn.

[stacked from 32 images] not the best background but I like the seeds.

A number of seeds still attached to the flower head. [stacked from 6 images]

Closeup of a single seed head. [stacked from 63 images]
Any suggestions for lighting so that I don't get the bright reflections from the strands? Some type of diffusion? So far I have not used any.

The seeds from above have very long tails. I had to stitch several photos together because I couldn't fit it all in at my lowest magnification.
Again, not the best background. And the filaments definitely did not come out real well. Would a different background and different lighting help with this?

No idea how many images I had. I used CombineZP to stack this before I purchased Helicon.

Here is a Burr with all those little hooks that attach so well to your clothes when walking through fields. [stacked from 76 images]

And a closeup of the hooks on the end [stacked from 12 images] The focus on this did not come out real good. Probably partly because my method of focusing is to very slightly nudge the focus ring of the 0.5X lens under the camera.
I will try this again sometime soon using the Bausch & Lomb compound microscope base I bought off of ebay since I can move it about 1 micrometer at a time with the fine focus knob.

klevin

Re: Various Seed Pods

Post by klevin »