Does anyone have the Laowa 100mm x2 macro lens?

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: Pau, rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S.

RobertOToole
Posts: 1875
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:34 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Does anyone have the Laowa 100mm x2 macro lens?

Post by RobertOToole »

lothman wrote:
Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:04 am
I sent my Laowa 100 to the dealer because of the focus creep when holding upwards and got a replacement lens. I found a lot of grease at the wall of the inner tubus, is this normal with your copy?
They offered to exchange it again, I'm afraid the next lens will be the same.
regards
Lothar

grease.jpg
This is interesting, thanks for taking time to post this Lothar.

I'm interested since I was planning on picking up one of these in the future and I have a feeling this would have had these same issues if I would have picked one up. Thats the way its been with me lately. :-k

Everyone should be aware that this is the main difference between the larger brands like Canon, Nikon, Sony, Sigma being more consistent between copies and the smaller brands like Laowa, Samyang and Meike, where the quality will vary a lot from copy to copy. This is why Sigma tests every lens now and has made big strides in improving consistency over the years (with less problems than Nikon now, according to LensRentals). Nikon is only going to get worse. Canon has always been the most consistent and is getting better all the time with QC. Just FYI.

Robert

lothman
Posts: 536
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:00 am
Location: Stuttgart/Germany

Re: Does anyone have the Laowa 100mm x2 macro lens?

Post by lothman »

RobertOToole wrote:
Fri Feb 19, 2021 8:38 am
Everyone should be aware that this is the main difference between the larger brands like Canon, Nikon, Sony, Sigma being more consistent between copies and the smaller brands like Laowa, Samyang and Meike, where the quality will vary a lot from copy to copy...
Robert
to be fair, the Laowa comes with a front filter, so the internals would never get in touch with anything. And optically I really cannot complain.

RobertOToole
Posts: 1875
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:34 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Does anyone have the Laowa 100mm x2 macro lens?

Post by RobertOToole »

lothman wrote:
Fri Feb 19, 2021 11:13 am
RobertOToole wrote:
Fri Feb 19, 2021 8:38 am
Everyone should be aware that this is the main difference between the larger brands like Canon, Nikon, Sony, Sigma being more consistent between copies and the smaller brands like Laowa, Samyang and Meike, where the quality will vary a lot from copy to copy...
Robert
to be fair, the Laowa comes with a front filter, so the internals would never get in touch with anything. And optically I really cannot complain.
There is a front glass cover? Okay. Hard to tell from the image you posted.

The Oshiro/Laowa 65mm f/2.8 2x Ultra Macro APO I tested years ago also ran a front cover glass. That Oshiro 65mm copy I tested had centering issues since one corner was softer than the rest but it wasn't too bad compared to the Canon MP-E.

lothman
Posts: 536
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:00 am
Location: Stuttgart/Germany

Re: Does anyone have the Laowa 100mm x2 macro lens?

Post by lothman »

lothman wrote:
Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:04 am
I found a lot of grease at the wall of the inner tubus, is this normal with your copy?...
Again to all Laowa 100mm owners, is the grease layer "normal"?

Ichthyophthirius
Posts: 1152
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:24 am

Re: Does anyone have the Laowa 100mm x2 macro lens?

Post by Ichthyophthirius »

The copy I had had thin patches of grease but not a thick layer.

You're right, it should be used with the Laowa front filter. Otherwise, it will collect lots of dust sticking to the grease film.

Bryce McQuillan
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 3:28 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Does anyone have the Laowa 100mm x2 macro lens?

Post by Bryce McQuillan »

Ive not had an issue of it creeping, but I have had aperture issues, where the aperture is getting "sticky" eg if you have it at F11, it keeps shooting at F2.8, after a number of shots it eventually changed to F11, I have sent mine in for repair.
Bryce McQuillan

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic