Zerene on the RAM disk

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Adalbert
Posts: 1388
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Zerene on the RAM disk

Post by Adalbert »

Hello everybody,

We have already discussed the RAID-0 but the best solution is RAM-disk.
https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... highlight=

Could anyone recommend any software for that?
I would prefer freeware as SoftPerfect RAM Disk, etc.

Can I configure the Zerene so that it uses the RAM-disk or do I have to install Zerene on the RAM-disk?

BTW, is it better to create an image or to install the Zerene every time?

Thank you in advance.

Best regards,
ADi

rjlittlefield
Site Admin
Posts: 21542
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:34 am
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: Zerene on the RAM disk

Post by rjlittlefield »

Adalbert wrote:Can I configure the Zerene so that it uses the RAM-disk
The important things are to:
1. put your source images on fast storage, and
2. set Options > Preferences > New Projects to be either "With source files if possible" or "In specified directory" on fast storage. (In other words, do not let the setting for New Projects remain "In default temp directory".)

It should not matter where the software is installed.

--Rik

Adalbert
Posts: 1388
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Rik,

OK, thanks!

I have already started testing and shown the results in the following thread:
https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... highlight=

BTW, stack with 400 pictures is being calculated now in the RAM-disk.
Firstly in one session then in four sessions (with sub-stacks) at the same time.

BR, ADi

Adalbert
Posts: 1388
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello everybody,

The test has been finished successfully :-)

Source: 400 TIFF files a ca 30MB ; RAM-disk: 120GB

1) Align & Stack All (Both) for 400 pict => 21 min, 55 sec
2) Align All Frames + 4 * sub-stacks (a 100 pict) => 15 min, 11 sec
Image

Because of the splitting of the stack into 4 sub-stacks the execution time has been reduced by 30%.
OK, but I have to add the time needed for the calculation of the DMap for the 4 results of the sub-stacks.

BTW, the CPU-usage has reached sometimes 100%; temp 70°

BR, ADi

Bob-O-Rama
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 6:46 am
Location: Allentown, PA, USA, Earth, etc.
Contact:

Post by Bob-O-Rama »

Adalbert wrote: Source: 400 TIFF files a ca 30MB ; RAM-disk: 120GB
And ... how long did it take you to copy the files into the RAM drive?

-- Bob

Adalbert
Posts: 1388
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hi Bob,
400 files * 30MB from M2 into RAM-disk about 8 seconds.
BR, ADi

mjkzz
Posts: 1237
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 3:38 pm
Location: California/Shenzhen
Contact:

Post by mjkzz »

400*30MB = 12,000MB, divided by 8 = 1.5GB / s . . . that M2 drive is pretty fast, which SSD is it? Samsung 970?

Adalbert
Posts: 1388
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

DISK: Corsair Force Series Gen.4 PCIe MP600 1TB
RAM: Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 64GB (2x32GB) DDR4 3600 (PC4-28800) C18

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic