Latest homemade diatom circle

Images made through a microscope. All subject types.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Pau
Site Admin
Posts: 5703
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:57 am
Location: Valencia, Spain

Post by Pau »

Congrats again, high price for a well done work!
I also was following the auction (too expensive for me :o :shock: ), could you disclose how many hours you spent making the slide?
Pau

Beatsy
Posts: 1840
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 3:10 am
Location: Malvern, UK

Post by Beatsy »

130 hours. Clearly an amateur venture (for the love of) rather than a truly viable commercial one :)

BobM
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:28 am

Post by BobM »

Great work! Beatsy, wondering if you could help me - I recently picked up an ICM 405 (at least very similar) but I do not have the exposure controller to open the internal shutter when using my Cannon with its own shutter. Are you using the exposure control box or are you opening the ICM internal shutter some other way?
Thanks
Bob

Beatsy
Posts: 1840
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 3:10 am
Location: Malvern, UK

Post by Beatsy »

Yes, I have the shutter control box. I use it in "bulb"mode to hold the internal shutter open then use the camera shutter for each exposure.

I briefly considered removing the internal shutter mechanism, but it requires disassembly of the focus controls to get in there. So I use it "as is". I am concerned the box will give up the ghost at some point so bought a spare on Ebay - they do turn up from time to time.

You might consider using a trinocular instead, it could be quicker to procure and more versatile in the long run. But possibly more expensive. Some cameras won't fit on the front photoport (at the correct distance to the sensor). I use a Canon 5d mkii which just fits, but I had to remove all the polaroid gubbins from the scope so I could fit a small flash trigger to the hotshoe on top of the camera.

Hope that helps.

BobM
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:28 am

Post by BobM »

I see, thanks for that information. I was considering a trinocular but don't really want to spend any more on this 'scope at present. It is very basic - no dark field condenser, Ph. contrast or DIC - and no control unit of course - but is otherwise in very good condition. I'm thinking of using my Canon 40D on the front.

Do you have any idea what the pin out on the side connector is or the shutter voltage may be? So far Zeiss have not been forthcoming with this information or any service manuals etc.

Thanks
Bob

Beatsy
Posts: 1840
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 3:10 am
Location: Malvern, UK

Post by Beatsy »

Sorry, I looked for that info myself but never found any.

BobM
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:28 am

Post by BobM »

Thanks anyway,
Bob

piermicro
Posts: 861
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 7:52 am
Location: ITALY
Contact:

Post by piermicro »

Very ,very nice indeed.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic