Unknown flora

Images taken in a controlled environment or with a posed subject. All subject types.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

elf

Unknown flora

Post by elf »

This is about 95% manually stacked, with the other 5% contributed by Zerene Stacker. About 40 images contributed to the stack. The original images were all exposed a bit too far to the right and as a result the ZS stack had a lot of blooming around all of the edges. I blended the originals by hand, then added bits from the ZS stack where it handled the ghosting better. Once the blending was complete, I merged all of the layers and set the mode for the new layer to Multiply with an opacity of 50%.
Normally I'd just pick another one of the flowers (or what's left of the flower) and reshoot, but this was found on a walk and brought back to the studio. It was already starting to wilt by the time I started shooting. It's actually pretty easy (but rather tedious) to blend images by hand. I use a duplicate layer to toggle on and off to see which bits of the layer are sharpest, then paint on the mask of the original layer to show them.

It would be great if someone could Id the plant. I'm going to plant the seeds, so maybe I'll find out next year what it is :)

Cactusdave

Post by Cactusdave »

I'm not sure without the sight of leaves, but it looks like it could be a (European) plantain, Plantago sp.
Leitz Ortholux 1, Zeiss standard, Nikon Diaphot inverted, Canon photographic gear

Cyclops

Post by Cyclops »

Yea definitely a Plantain (Plantago), I posted on on here a while ago.
It looks like Ribwort Plantain (P.lanceolata) but the clue is the leaf shape. Are they long and thin or short and stubby?
Canon 5D and 30D | Canon IXUS 265HS | Cosina 100mm f3.5 macro | EF 75-300 f4.5-5.6 USM III | EF 50 f1.8 II | Slik 88 tripod | Apex Practicioner monocular microscope

elf

Post by elf »

Thanks for the id. I think I'll cancel my plans for planting the seeds :)

Cyclops

Post by Cyclops »