Adapter for Micro-Four-Thirds camera (GF1)?

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

ktraphagen

Adapter for Micro-Four-Thirds camera (GF1)?

Post by ktraphagen »

I have a Panasonic GF1 with several mFT lenses and an adapter to use some older Canon FD lenses. I'd like to know if there is an adapter for a microscope for the Micro-Four-Thirds cameras and if anyone has used one for microphotography?

Thank you,
Karyn

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Karyn, welcome aboard!

I have no hands-on experience with any of the Micro-Four-Thirds cameras.

However, based on what I see in the technical descriptions and what I have seen with other cameras, the Micro-Four-Thirds should work well for photography through a microscope simply by pointing the camera's lens down a normal viewing eyepiece. See the discussion HERE, especially the setup illustrated at the bottom of that post.

There are other approaches that may also work, using the camera body with no lens, and letting optics in the microscope alone project an image onto the camera's sensor. Pros and cons of those approaches are discussed at the same link.

--Rik

elf

Post by elf »

Adaptors definitely exist for Canon, so you can use your current adaptor to mate up with a Canon microscope adaptor. See this thread: http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/v ... c.php?t=12

OzRay

Post by OzRay »

Depending on your microscope, there are a number of adapters available for m4/3s cameras.

This is my E-P1 on a microscope using a C mount to m4/3s to scope adapter:

Here's a closer shot of the adapters:

Cheers

Ray

ktraphagen

Post by ktraphagen »

Thank you, all, for the info and the photos of the setup. I'm encouraged to go ahead and try to put together a setup with my camera!

Karyn

ktraphagen

Post by ktraphagen »

OzRay,

Where did you purchase those adapters? Thx

Karyn