Which trinocular should I have for insect photo?

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

len

Which trinocular should I have for insect photo?

Post by len »

Hi,

I'm an amateur insect collector and I would like to ask your advice about which trinocular should I have to photo insects parts.
I don't know too much on microphotography but I want to take a good quality photos of object of about 0.2-3mm (mostly leg parts).
I had been reading the post and found lots of buzz words i.e. FD, BF... but I'm not sure which method will be the best for me.
Does anyone have experience with insect photos? Can you suggest a recommended model or what feature should I look for in the trinocular?

Thanks,
Len

len

Post by len »

Does anyone has experience with amscope?

I was found this cheap model http://store.amscope.com/t490a.html (there is also a DF model) is it worth buying or a total waste of money?

Thanks

g4lab

Post by g4lab »

The trinoc scope you linked to, appears to have a fixed trinocular prism.
That is not the one you probably want.
They are cheaper,but some of the light always is shot up the camera tube, and is wasted.

You want one with a lever or rod, that allows you to move the prism. When you shoot a picture, one side goes dark, and all the light goes up the camera tube.

Fixed prisms have a use, if you need to watch and photograph live critters, or other moving things. I presume your insects will be dead or anesthetized.

the Amscope is not a total waste of money. But you would find that most list members here would recommend trying to get a good used major brand scope probably an Olympus or a Nikon. Its an old saw that a fine used instrument is better than a cheapo new one. Usually,, almost always.

There have been many threads on this and related subjects. Search the archives and then come and ask more questions.

Gene

rjlittlefield