Help - slide/rail tradeoff

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Bob

Help - slide/rail tradeoff

Post by Bob »

I am just getting into macro photography of small flowers and bugs in the field. It has became obvious to me that I need to add a focus slide/rail to my tripod to facilitate my camera alignment to a subject and in the future, for taking multiple images for use with the Halcyon software.

I am looking for recommendations and comments about the advantages/disadvantages of various models of slides. What is the minimum focus range that is recommended for this type of photography? How important is the cross slide direction? Does one just rely on the tripod adjustment for vertical adjustments?

Price is of some concern but not critical for I plan to keep this item for a long time and one never saves money by buying an item that is not up to the task. One will just have to upgrade in the future after a period of frustration.

Some slides that I have looked:

Manfrotto, Valbon, Novoflex,
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/shop/723/ ... Rails.html

Adorama
http://www.adorama.com/MCFRS.html?searc ... item_no=22

I am sure that there are other options that I do not know about but so far I am leaning toward the Adorama focusing rail. It looks like a solid design and has a cross slide. It also looks like the center of gravity of a camera setup (mounted by means of a lens mount) would be nominally over the center of the slides which would add to stability.

My current macro equipment: Canon 40D, Canon 100 mm lens, Canon 1.4 extender and a set of extension tubes.

Thanks for you thoughts.

Bob

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Bob, welcome aboard! :D You've come to the right place for advice.