Nikon Optiphot lamp-house 'cradle' issues.

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Photomicro

Nikon Optiphot lamp-house 'cradle' issues.

Post by Photomicro »

I am wondering if anyone else has had issues with the plastic 'cradle' at the back of a Nikon Optiphot fracturing and breaking?

It attaches to the microscope base with four screws, and extends about 2.5 cm (an inch in old money), with a 50mm diameter ring at the rear to take the lamp collector lens, which screws in.

The plastic seems quite brittle, and one had broken completely on a stand which I have been preparing for someone. I had to swap out the good one from my stand.

Whilst it seems a candidate for 3D printing, of which I have zero experience, it has been suggested to me that the plastic used for this may not withstand the heat from the lamp (12V 50W halogen).

I have shown the good one below.Image
regards, Mike.

Time flies like an arrow, fruit flies like bananas.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/66189529@N08/

SutherlandDesmids

Post by SutherlandDesmids »

When I receive the Optiphot I'll let you know how it holds up at my end :D !
Patrick J.K.C. Gray

Smokedaddy

Post by Smokedaddy »

I had the same problem but it was a lot easier to pick one up on eBay. From my experience, with my particular printer, I would modify the collector/filter holder slightly so it can be printed completely 'flat' in the orientation of your last photo. I might have to think about that statement more. <g> Matterhackers sells a Proto-Pasta High Temp Carbon Fiber PLA Filament that can be heat treated (after printing). I 'think' it's good up to about 250 degrees. I have no experience with it.

Last edited by Smokedaddy on Sat Dec 08, 2018 1:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

iconoclastica

Post by iconoclastica »