Disassembly of Nikon LU Plan 50x

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Cornel

Disassembly of Nikon LU Plan 50x

Post by Cornel »

Hello everybody,

I have a question about the Nikon LU Plan microscope objectives BD type. I want to remove the the exterior cover of the objective so I can better light the subject and I don't know if it's possible with this model, I can't find anything on the internet about this.

This is the objective:

I've tried grabbing the brown part towards the thread and the main body but it doesn't budge, and I don't know if that's incorrect or I should apply more force.
If anyone has experience with this type of objectives...

Thank you.

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

I have no experience with this particular model of Nikon BD.

However, with another Nikon BD I found that the threads had been locked with some thin clear adhesive similar to nail polish, which yielded quickly to a small amount of ethyl acetate.

See http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/v ... 4908#74908 and the surrounding thread.

--Rik

rockycarter

Post by rockycarter »

rjlittlefield is correct. These objectives an the mitutoyo objectives. they are glued. I use a Q-tip to apply the solvent. I never use anymore solvent then what is needed to seperate the casings. hope this helps
Rocky Carter

Cornel

Post by Cornel »

Thank you for the replies, I have a Mitty BD and an older Nikon BD type objective like in that post but they all have in common a ring on the body that has better grip so you can grab and turn to disassembly. This LU plan doesn't have this, which makes me wonder if the exterior can be removed, glued or not.

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

I once had a similar problem -- nothing to grab -- while trying to take the gold barrel off a Nikon MRL00102 (like HERE).