Not sharp enough(?)

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Omegamortis

Not sharp enough(?)

Post by Omegamortis »

Good evening! I'm pretty new to stacking and I have encountered a bit of a problem, I think.

The image doesn't seem sharp enough, what am I doing wrong?

First of all, the setup.

I use a wooden board, with a QD-plate which supports the WEMacro-rig, the PB6-belows with my camera(Nikon D7100) and the lens (with diffuser). I use 2x Jansö lamps and one Meike MK-300 flash. See picture.

I found a bug of some sort and decided to give it a try with 2 different microlenses. The first one is a Nikon BD Plan 10x (na0,25) 210/0. Which gave me this picture:

It looks OK, but not nearly as sharp as I would "prefer" so to speak. When browsing the forum I see knife sharp images and this one is.. Well. Dull?

So, the real question(s) here is:

How do I improve the sharness with what I have? On this particular photo I used the Meike flash (1/128) (in combination with 2 Jansjö lamps) with sync speed 250.
I used the mirror lock up function in the camera as well. A plastic cup served as a diffuser. Is the lack of sharpness due to microvibrations? Not enough light? Or is it the lens?

I edited the photo in ZS with Dmax and used Pmax to clean some hairs and so on. Sharpened in PS and adjusted the clarity.

I tried to make a 100% crop, but it became even worse(?)

I took another shot at the bug with my second lens (a 20x noname from surplusshed) with same settings (except extension), which resulted in this image:

I still think it's a OK picture, but I still think it's a bit soft. Sharpened and some adjustments in camera-raw in PS.

How shall I proceed? Another flash? I've tried a pingpong ball as a diffuser, but it gave me a white image, I can't reposition the flash far back enough as it is just now.