Introducing myself: Bee collecting water

Images of undisturbed subjects in their natural environment. All subject types.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

IvanG

Introducing myself: Bee collecting water

Post by IvanG »

Hello everyone. I'm a new member of this community and would like to introduce myself by first saying how amazed I am at the great work and depth of useful information contained in this site. I've been a professional photographer for 30 years+, but macro photography is still a relatively recent area for me and I'm looking to continue learning. It was in that search for knowledge that I came upon this site, so I want to thank everyone here for helping me further that area of my photography.

I think it's proper I should include one of my pictures here, open of course to comment and criticism.

This image was taken during a spell of very hot days here in the Yucatan Peninsula, bees were specially busy collecting water so I was keen to take advantage of the ensuing photo opportunities.

EXIF: Nikon D800E, Micro-Nikkor 200mm/f4, 1/250 - f/18, ISO 500. External flash in soft-box.

tevans9129

Post by tevans9129 »

Excellent image Ivan and welcome to the group, a very knowledgeable group here and willing to help us that need it.

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Ivan, welcome aboard!

Your introductory image is great! I'm pretty sure that it raises the bar for future first-timers. :D

Based on highlights in the eye and the water drops, I'm thinking that the illumination is with dual strobes, not hidden behind large diffusers. Good control of specular reflections, despite the rather small size of the lights.

I particularly like that the bee's tongue is visible extending into the water drop, and that we can also see a reflection of the bee in the water underneath. Without that reflection, I suspect that the water would not be recognizable as such.