www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - Gutted lens as an adjustable tube?
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Gutted lens as an adjustable tube?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Equipment Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ChrisR
Site Admin


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 7763
Location: Near London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A way round that is to use a split rail, or support each standard separately on an 11" Magic arm. You can put then where you like, then. PB-4 only tilts one way at one end...
I tried it with a cheap BPM set because they're also very skinny and one version of those goes down to very little.
_________________
Chris R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jan Steinman



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 21
Location: Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChrisR wrote:
A way round that is to… support each standard separately on an 11" Magic arm. You can put then where you like, then. PB-4 only tilts one way at one end...
Darn you! Now I have to go spend more money... the Chinese Magic Arm clones appear to be very cheap.

I have a two foot Magic Arm that I use for studio strobes, but that's probably more trouble than it's worth for a special purpose bellows.
_________________
:::: Jan Steinman ::::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ChrisR
Site Admin


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 7763
Location: Near London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I remember correctly, your Vivitar standards will both have "tripod" holes in their bases.
_________________
Chris R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dickb



Joined: 05 Jul 2010
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:03 am    Post subject: Re: Extending Reply with quote

Jan Steinman wrote:
dickb wrote:
Another option, if you are into gutting things is the Vivitar 2x macro focusing teleconverter.
Have you actually done this surgery?

I have one of these sitting on my desk right now (Olympus OM mount), staring at be accusingly for ignoring it. I scored it on evilBay for $10.

The difficulty I see is in adapting the camera mount. Of course, if you get one with the mounts you want, you're laughin'. Bust most likely, you'll want to do more than simply remove the optics, which are atrocious. (I did look through the thing, and concluded I'd be better off smearing Vasoline™ on a filter, if I want "soft focus." Very Happy)

Any Day Now, I intend to remove the optics and replace the rear mount with a µ4/3rds one.


I have done this surgery several times on different mounts. The process varies considerably per mount, as they have aperture linkages in different places. Just removing the optics leaves an opening that may be a bit too narrow for some purposes - I gutted a C/Y version for use with my S-Planar 100/4, but had to remove the aperture linkage also to create enough room for its large protruding rear element. If you do that, you need to install flocking.

I strongly disagree with your assessment that the optics in the teleconverter are poor. They may be in yours, but the ones I used I rank among the best teleconverters I've tried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jan Steinman



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 21
Location: Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:40 am    Post subject: Re: Extending Reply with quote

dickb wrote:
I strongly disagree with your assessment that the optics in the teleconverter are poor. They may be in yours, but the ones I used I rank among the best teleconverters I've tried.

Thanks for that assessment. I'll give it another look. Perhaps I've been too harsh on it.
_________________
:::: Jan Steinman ::::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jan Steinman



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 21
Location: Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChrisR wrote:
If I remember correctly, your Vivitar standards will both have "tripod" holes in their bases.

Ooohhh... great call! You're absolutely right.

Just had a serious brain-freeze, based on your suggestion of a Magic Arm... how about cannibalizing a broken 3D printer, and using the 3D positioning mechanism to control the rear bellows standard?

Then one could do robotic focus bracketing in 3D space.

(NO! NO! NO! MUST... SIT... ON... HANDS... TOO... MANY... PROJECTS... DO... NOT... TYPE... eBay.com... Very Happy )
_________________
:::: Jan Steinman ::::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ChrisR
Site Admin


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 7763
Location: Near London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or just program a drone to move in little steps? Dancing
_________________
Chris R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jan Steinman



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 21
Location: Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChrisR wrote:
Or just program a drone to move in little steps? Dancing

This board really needs a "Like" button. Smile
_________________
:::: Jan Steinman ::::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DesolateMirror



Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This turned out to be a wealth of information, thanks for all the replies. I've got a couple of random old cheap zoom lenses coming from ebay and will post the results when I can get time to mess with them.


MarkSturtevant wrote:
Ironically I have just built a super macro lens with the vivitar 2X macroteleconverter. I will be posting on it later, once I get a chance to test it out.
It was very easy to de-glass, but flocking up the insides was a chore.


That would be very interesting, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Equipment Discussions All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group