Feedback/criticism needed

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Jonas

Feedback/criticism needed

Post by Jonas »

Dear users of this glorious board!

I have dabbled in focus stacking for a couple of years now and as such I am not technically a beginner, but I never got around to asking for help and just tried to solve my issues the best I could on my own. But I am sure that there are tons of things that I could be doing better and I am now at a point where I am seing very little improvement through my own trials and errors and this is where you guys enter the picture - so to speak.

All my shots are done with a nikon D7100 body, Tokina 100mm macro 5.6 pro, meike tubes, a Tokina doubler and the R1C1 flash-system for lighting. I use various diffusers - all home made.

My main concern at the moment is that I might be oversharpening my images and that I end of fiddling with the contrasts too much. I also struggle with a lack of realism in my shots - they end up pretty "artificial looking" - "cartoony" for lack of a better word.

I have collected my favorite images in this flickr-folder: https://flic.kr/s/aHskq5oWeU

I appreciate any comments you might have (positive as well as negative) and will gladly provide more information if you need it.

Thank you for your time.

-jonas

Harald

Post by Harald »

Hi there jonas,

Your softing of the light works great. Some good lights there.

Personally, I normally choose white or black backgrounds only, it doesn't take any attention of the subject. And I think its ok to remove the insect pin in PS.
Kind Regards
Harald

Lier Fotoklubb / NSFF
AFIAP / CPS
BGF / GMV
http://www.500px.com/blender11

Jonas

Post by Jonas »

Thank you for your comments, Harald.