Question About Journal Article Photos

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Brandontmyers

Question About Journal Article Photos

Post by Brandontmyers »

Hi! I am an amateur of many things with macro photography being one of them. I like to keep up to date with news in the insect world as well.

One thing that I have always wondered is how are the pictures used in journal articles taken? An example of what I mean can be found http://media.npr.org/assets/img/2012/02 ... 00-c85.jpg.

Are these photos usually stacked and then cut out and pasted on a white background? When I try, I can never get the selection close enough to where it does not look like a jumbled mess on the really tiny objects.

Thanks in advance!

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

That particular image could have been photographed as a single exposure on a white background. Note the scale bar -- that is a BIG specimen!

Smaller subjects may require focus stacking, but that by itself should not be much complication.

The key thing is that if you want the subject isolated on a pure white background, then it's best to start with something close to that and then just clean up the background. Trying to photograph on a background that is midtone or darker, then mask in post-processing, often ends up looking artificial.

If you can post images showing some of the difficulties that you're having, we can possibly provide more directed help.

--Rik

Brandontmyers

Post by Brandontmyers »

Thanks Rik!

I will get some examples tonight.