Wemacro vs. Stackshot

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Deanimator

Wemacro vs. Stackshot

Post by Deanimator »

While I'm not a beginner at macrophotography, I'm definitely a beginner when it comes to automated rails.

I just finished Johan's review of the Wemacro, and had previously done some reading on the Stackshot. His review was very helpful, and indicates that (as of time of submission) you traded a modest amount of convenience for a substantial reduction in cost vis a vis the Stackshot.

While I'm no longer in the penurious state in which I previously found myself, I still can't go throwing money around recklessly.

Is the Wemacro a good choice for somebody with moderate macro experience and strong computer skills? Price-wise (especially during the current sale), it's VERY attractive.

I will be using it tethered to an Android tablet, as I see that Android, via either Blue Tooth or USB is supported (I currently use DSLR Controller via USB).

Are there any pitfalls of which I should be aware?

Fall is fast approaching, and with it the end of my [somewhat limited] outdoor macro activities. Zerene (already purchased and in use) and an automated rail will give me lots of opportunities to experiment.

I'm looking forward to exploring the possibilities of non-autofocus lenses, and the only practical way to explore this is an automated rail.

So, is the Wemacro the way to go?

mawyatt

Post by mawyatt »

My first automated focus rail was the Stackshot, I got back in ~2011 I think. It's very well designed and built, and as someone mentioned the Cadillac of focus rail systems.

The WeMacro is a copy of this focus rail and has some nice features like the Bluetooth control. They also have a very attractive Vertical Stand, which is superb!