Leitz Ortholux on Sony a7r ii

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

skrama

Leitz Ortholux on Sony a7r ii

Post by skrama »

Hello All,

This may have been posted, but apologies to post again. I searched but my limited knowledge it wasnt easy to sort this out. With that out of the way, here is the question:

I am very new to the world of macro and micro-photography. after reading and going through a lot of set ups, I came across someone locally ready to part their way with Leitz Ortholux microscope. I have attached pictures of the item for sale. The original owner uses it to take some pictures of the slide and digitize them using a Nikon D300. I can buy adapters, but my question, can I use this kind of a microscope to venture into photo-micrography.

The price they are quoting is not certain but in range of $450-550.

Please help me in regards to this request.

zzffnn

Post by zzffnn »

Yes, that microscope is a very good one. Camera adaptation is not that difficult.

The "Pv apo" objective is a very good lens. Is there only one Pv apo or two? The full Pv (variable phase contrast) set should have at least two apos (40x and 90x, IIRC). Pv 20x and 10x are not apochromatic though.

Your condenser seems to be a Leitz bathtub though. Matching condenser for Pv objectives is Leitz Heine, which itself can cost over $350 USD used. Each Pv apo objective is worth at least $70, if not $100.

Note the eyepieces on that microscope seem to be of a different brand (AO Spencer?) and may not work very well with Leitz objectives.

skrama

Two Pv Apo's in the Microscope

Post by skrama »

Hi zzffnn,

Thanks for the response.