Olympus BX45 Modification and Customization Thread

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

CesarG

Olympus BX45 Modification and Customization Thread

Post by CesarG »

Hello all,
I wanted to introduce myself and start to contribute and learn from this forum. I'm currently a student of pathology and recently acquired a BX45 so that I can study at home.

Here is my microscope info:

Current Setup
U-TTBI ergonomic head
UPlanFlN-4x
PlanN-10x
UPlanSApo-20x
UPlanFlN-40x
Halogen Light

To Add
PlanApoN-2x
Shims on 4x & 40x to make objectives Parfocal
LED Light Source

To Upgrade
UPlanSApo-4x
UPlanSApo-40x
Circular Fixed Stage-Coated White Ceramic

My first simple modification
Since I usually use the lowest power objectives (2x, 4x & 10x >70% of the time) I prefer a fixed stage, but ended up buying a right handed XY stage as that was cheapest. Unfortunately due to the stage design it has a tendency to slide from front to back when I'm using the microscope. In order to keep the stage from moving I added a thumb screw to the right side of the stage mechanism that moves (see below).

Choronzon

Post by Choronzon »

Seriously? You drilled and tapped the Y scale indicator for a lock screw rather than adjusting the Y rack to resolve play in the table when moving the slide by hand?
I am not young enough to know everything.

Charles Krebs

Post by Charles Krebs »

Not sure he is talking about "play" in the movement. My impression was that he preferred to physically move the slide around with the fingers instead of using the x/y axial controls (no stage clips in picture). In that case his preference is for a truly "fixed" stage.

What puzzles me a little is the:
"Shims on 4x & 40x to make objectives Parfocal"