Looking for help with a Diaphot 200

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

redvalor

Looking for help with a Diaphot 200

Post by redvalor »

Hi!

I have microscope experience (in a research lab setting), and I have a background in fine art photography. But I have no experience in photomicrography.

I recently picked up a Diaphot 200 for a really great price. It is clean, everything looks good. But it is missing the power supply. I am also not quite sure what is needed to attach my D7200 body to it once it is up and running.

I've searched for the PCM-1120 power supply and haven't found anything.
Can I use a generic 12V 100W supply? Could I avoid the whole problem by converting it to LED?

As for the camera connection-- do I need a phototube? The microscope has the photo port on the left side (not on the front). I found a Nikon V-T tube but I'm not sure if that is what I need.

Thanks so much for reading. I'm really excited to get this thing up and running!
~Erin

Ichthyophthirius

Post by Ichthyophthirius »

Hi Erin,

Can you post a few images of the microscope? That'll make things easier.

Here is the manual: http://files.lordil.fr/manuel-microscop ... ot-200.pdf On page 39 you can see that a camera is mounted on the side port. Nikon's original adapter used a PL projection lens, but other options might be possible.

The manual describes an alternative by installing a trinocular head but I don't know which models would fit this microscope.

Regards, Ichty

Pau
Site Admin

Post by Pau »

Hi Erin, welcome aboard!
I've searched for the PCM-1120 power supply and haven't found anything.
Can I use a generic 12V 100W supply?
Yes, it will work, both AC or DC. Of course you need one with voltage regulation
Could I avoid the whole problem by converting it to LED?