My focus seems inadequate - can it be improved?

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

fastbilly

My focus seems inadequate - can it be improved?

Post by fastbilly »

I am new to microphotography and this site has been very helpful. I’ve just been putting together what I think is a pretty good kit but am questioning my initial results – they seem much less sharp than I would have expected. I would be interested in feedback as to whether my results are normal, and if not, suggestions to improve them.

My gear is as follows:

Olympus BHTU microscope with DPlan objectives
Trinocular head (BH2-TR30)
Olympus photomicro adapter L
Fotodiox Pro lens mount adaptor (Olympus to Canon lens adaptor)
Olympus 1.67X and 2.5X photo projection eyepieces
Canon 7D Mark II and 50-D cameras
Various botanical slides from Carolina Biological Supply

I believe I have centered my condenser, set my field iris diaphragm and aperture iris properly for each objective according to the BHTU manual instructions. I have even tried stopping down the aperture iris a bit to try and improve contrast.

I am shooting tethered and using live view on Canon EOS Utility; cameras are set to Silent Mode to use the electronic first shutter curtain. (The resulting images are exactly as they appear on my laptop prior to shooting, so I am quite sure there are no vibrations affecting my results.)