www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - Resource Limit Is Reached?
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Resource Limit Is Reached?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> General Discussion Forum and Community Announcements
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NicoVB



Joined: 11 Jul 2016
Posts: 145
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 6:38 am    Post subject: Resource Limit Is Reached? Reply with quote

Hi admins,

I often experience following error when browsing the forum.
It's a blank page with following text
Quote:
Resource Limit Is Reached

The website is temporarily unable to service your request as it exceeded resource limit. Please try again later.


Can you solve this?
_________________
When you make the most fantastic discovery, a lot of people want a piece of it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lou Jost



Joined: 04 Sep 2015
Posts: 1798
Location: Ecuador

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also often get that, even if just a couple of tabs are open.
_________________
Lou Jost
www.ecomingafoundation.wordpress.com
www.loujost.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pau
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Jan 2010
Posts: 3998
Location: Valencia, Spain

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has nothing to do with several tabs open at your browser (with a slow computer this can be problematic but doesn't induce this error). I often open lots of tabs at once.
It happens time to time, right now it's becoming pretty annoying.
This is due to some kind of server malfunction. Rik has contacted with them several times without a clear solution.

We can do little at the moment to fix it, sorry.
_________________
Pau
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lou Jost



Joined: 04 Sep 2015
Posts: 1798
Location: Ecuador

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ironically when I clicked to read Pau's new comment, I got a message instead: "Resource limit is reached".
_________________
Lou Jost
www.ecomingafoundation.wordpress.com
www.loujost.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johan



Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Posts: 964

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The hostpapa server that this site is hosted on is hitting some resource limits set by hostpapa. These are typically RAM, CPU or something else. Often these are set on servers where a lot of sites share the same server, in order that usage of one doesn't impact on other sites on the same server. I actually mailed the host myself a couple of years ago as an annoyed user but got nowhere. Unfortunately forums are quite resource and space intensive. Rik could try moving host but with this relatively old version of this forum software, a migration and possible upgrade like that is a whole barrel of unfun that I strongly suspect he'd rather avoid Smile
_________________
My extreme-macro.co.uk site, a learning site. Your comments and input there would be gratefully appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NicoVB



Joined: 11 Jul 2016
Posts: 145
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

johan wrote:
The hostpapa server that this site is hosted on is hitting some resource limits set by hostpapa. These are typically RAM, CPU or something else. Often these are set on servers where a lot of sites share the same server, in order that usage of one doesn't impact on other sites on the same server. I actually mailed the host myself a couple of years ago as an annoyed user but got nowhere. Unfortunately forums are quite resource and space intensive.

I don't agree with that and why is this error occuring?
You only host txt and pictures here, that is not very intensive...
Do you have a php.ini in your root dir of the forum?
Is so plz add this line to it:
Code:
memory_limit = 512M


If not, plz create it

johan wrote:
Rik could try moving host but with this relatively old version of this forum software, a migration and possible upgrade like that is a whole barrel of unfun that I strongly suspect he'd rather avoid


That is indeed a hussle, but it can be done...
_________________
When you make the most fantastic discovery, a lot of people want a piece of it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rjlittlefield
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 18235
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeQo wrote:
I don't agree with that and why is this error occuring?
You only host txt and pictures here, that is not very intensive...

Nonetheless, Johan's description is accurate.

The message reflects throttling at the level of the Apache web server, caused by a large number of expensive requests arriving too quickly together.

When it occurs, our admin panels always show an unusually large number of Guest logins from what appear to be robots of one sort or another.

The standard indexing robots are not so bad. Although they make lots of requests, the requests that they make are apparently fairly inexpensive and do not cause problems. For example just before I started to type this reply, the admin panel showed that in the preceding few minutes there had been 3 registered users and 163 guest logins, most of those from Google. The forum was running fine at that time.

In contrast, last night I logged on to find that the forum was hitting resource limits, and when I checked the status, I found that some unknown robot was doing nothing except trying to check user Profiles. This is a not an effective thing for a Guest robot to do, because nobody except logged-in users are permitted to look at profiles. In response to the request, the forum presents a login screen. I have no idea where the conversation with the robot goes from there, other than apparently consuming quite a few resources for no value. I blocked the offending IP address at the level of .htaccess, and the problem went away.

That was an unusual circumstance. More typically we find a robot apparently clicking buttons at random. (Guest logins trying to Post are good indicators.) Some of them may be ill-designed indexing robots; others we think are corporate firewalls that are proactively looking for malware on sites visited by users who live behind the firewall.

In any case, these instances of unusually high demand from robots end up acting as sort of unintended denial-of-service attacks. It doesn't take much load to do that because the forum is only hosted on an inexpensive shared server account.

Yes, we could probably solve the problem by just moving the forum to a higher class server. That would not be hugely difficult, or hugely expensive, but to date the annoyance has not been worth the trouble and expense to do it. That may change in the future, of course.

--Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dmillard



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 501
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rik -

Thanks for explaining this issue so clearly. And thank you very much for administering this informative, inspiring site where civil discourse is the norm, rather than the exception.

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lou Jost



Joined: 04 Sep 2015
Posts: 1798
Location: Ecuador

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I second that. This is the most productive, civil, and interesting photography forum I have ever encountered. Hats off to you Rik and your co-mods! These resource limit problems are slightly annoying but not common, and the far bigger danger is that this forum should become a burden to you timewise to the point where you get tired of it. A few minor annoyances are a small price to pay. I'm sure we all understand the voluntary nature of the administration of this forum and can accept its limitations.
_________________
Lou Jost
www.ecomingafoundation.wordpress.com
www.loujost.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pierre



Joined: 04 Jan 2010
Posts: 233
Location: France, Var, Toulon

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:31 am    Post subject: Resource Limit Is Reached? Reply with quote

Hello Rik,

Many thanks for those clear explanations.
_________________
Regards

Pierre
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NicoVB



Joined: 11 Jul 2016
Posts: 145
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@rjlittlefield
Good thing you found out that it's a robot causing the problem.
I'm not sure if blocking the ip is a good permanent solution, it may work for now, but if the ip of that robot changes you hit the same problem.

I'm sure you know that you can add some lines to the robot.txt file and block them there, if not, read the following.
http://www.robotstxt.org/robotstxt.html

And thx for looking into the problem.
_________________
When you make the most fantastic discovery, a lot of people want a piece of it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johan



Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Posts: 964

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

robots.txt is thoroughly useless for blocking spambots Smile.
_________________
My extreme-macro.co.uk site, a learning site. Your comments and input there would be gratefully appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rjlittlefield
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 18235
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

johan wrote:
robots.txt is thoroughly useless for blocking spambots Smile.

Indeed. robots.txt is a handy tool for communicating intent to friendly cooperative robots. It exerts no control whatsoever over unfriendly robots, which simply ignore it.

--Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
abpho



Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Posts: 1423
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rjlittlefield wrote:
When it occurs, our admin panels always show an unusually large number of Guest logins from what appear to be robots of one sort or another.
Is this what drove the user count up to 1193 on May 8 2011 at precisely 8:24pm? I've always wondered about HUGE that number.
_________________
I'm in Canada! Isn't that weird?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GaryB



Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same resource issue but I treat it just like my wifi dropping out at home, it'll pass and I'll do something else until it's back up again.

To add to others comments, thank you Rik for a great site. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> General Discussion Forum and Community Announcements All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group