Advice on gear for micro photography

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

The Cove Online

Advice on gear for micro photography

Post by The Cove Online »

Hi Everyone,

First I'd like to credit Rik and Charlie amoung many others for your contribution to this field of both science and art.

My background is marine science and I've also had a passion for photography for some time.

I'm interested in photographing subjects such as algae, zooplankton and possibly some structural coral or polyps of similar size. So ideally I guess this would be a range of 5-10 microns (algae) and 200 microns (zooplankton).

I have access to an amscope microscope at home and some Olympus and Leica microscopes at work - I believe there is also some zeiss objectives lying around without a microscope. I am not interested in 'mediocre' photography and would seek to have a database of high resolution images, which can be printed of perhaps A3 scale. This is not for any work requirements, but more so because of a general interest in photography and the lack of good taxonomic reference images for algae, which may be used as an aid for species identification at work.

So gear wise, I suspect I will require focus stacking software - what are your recommendations here - zyrene? My current camera is a 5diii, which may pose a problem since it doesn't have the greatest megapixel count or density. I do have a 'perfect photo suite' which allows resizing images to significantly larger sizes for print with minimal quality losses.

I'm not quite sure on which pathway to take for the actual photography, nor what objectives I will benefit most from. In saying this, I'm referring to my confusion of the differences between photography through: