New Canon DSLRs announced

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Mike B in OKlahoma

New Canon DSLRs announced

Post by Mike B in OKlahoma »

Canon has announced availability of the 1Ds Mark III and a 40D now. Check in most of the more general photo forums for details.

The 40D strikes me as of potential interest to macro photographers. The viewfinder is supposed to be improved significantly over previous 1.6 crop factor cameras, plus it has "live view" on the large LCD. This could be quite an advantage in macro photography, if it works well (I have no experience and not even any reliable user reports I know of).

I have a Rebel XTi for my backup camera that I'm content with for everything except macro....The viewfinder is intolerable on that camera for macro. Since it is a backup camera, I'm probably going to keep my XTi, and resist the temptation to trade it in for a 40D. But boy, is it a temptation!

As for the 1Ds Mark III, I'd love to have one, but for the price Canon wants, I'll get along with my original version 1Ds for another year or two....
Mike Broderick
Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Constructive critiques of my pictures, and reposts in this forum for purposes of critique are welcome

"I must obey the inscrutable exhortations of my soul....My mandate includes weird bugs."
--Calvin

Epidic

Post by Epidic »

Why go to a photo forum? Hasn't Canon announced this?
Will

Mike B in OKlahoma

There's a Canon announcement somewhere, I didn't have a link and was too lazy to look one up! Feel free to post the link if you like.

There are also a couple of new Nikons out there that look pretty good for those who are drawn to the Dark Side.... :)
Mike Broderick
Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Constructive critiques of my pictures, and reposts in this forum for purposes of critique are welcome