www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - Olympus Image Share and Focus Bracketing
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Olympus Image Share and Focus Bracketing

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Equipment Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bralex



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 9
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 4:56 pm    Post subject: Olympus Image Share and Focus Bracketing Reply with quote

I'm attempting to use the Olympus Image Share app to take some focus-bracketed pictures. I can use the app just fine for single shots, but, even when the camera is all set for bracketing, I can find no way to get the app to take anything other than a single shot.

Anyone able to get this working? There's no equivalent to the menus in the tethered Olympus Capture software, at least that I can find.

Thanks
Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisR
Site Admin


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 7486
Location: Near London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No idea Scott, but it might help (or not) if we knew the camera model Wink.
_________________
Chris R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zzffnn



Joined: 22 May 2014
Posts: 1616
Location: Texas USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 6:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Olympus Image Share and Focus Bracketing Reply with quote

bralex wrote:
I'm attempting to use the Olympus Image Share app to take some focus-bracketed pictures. I can use the app just fine for single shots, but, even when the camera is all set for bracketing, I can find no way to get the app to take anything other than a single shot.

Anyone able to get this working? There's no equivalent to the menus in the tethered Olympus Capture software, at least that I can find.

Thanks
Scott


Scott,

They worked for me (with E-M10 II, auto m4/3 lenses, on Android smartphone). Simply holding shutter release button on the phone app will run bracketing. Removing finger will stop it.
_________________
Selling my Schneider Componon S 50mm F/2.8 lens
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bralex



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 9
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris, my apologies for not mentioning that. E-M5 Mk II with a 40-150 Pro lens. Attempting to run on my ipad.

zzffnn, I will have to give that a try this afternoon - it wouldn't have occurred to me to hold the button down!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jojm



Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scott,
Did you check if your lens isn't already focused at infinity before you took the photo?
The focus bracketing always stops when focus is on infinity.
Just to test if this could happen, pull back the MP ring on the lens, put the distance on 10ft, replace the MP ring in auto-focus position then try again.
_________________
My mineral photos gallery on mindat.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bralex



Joined: 22 Jan 2018
Posts: 9
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jojm wrote:
Scott,
Did you check if your lens isn't already focused at infinity before you took the photo?
The focus bracketing always stops when focus is on infinity.
Just to test if this could happen, pull back the MP ring on the lens, put the distance on 10ft, replace the MP ring in auto-focus position then try again.

Yes, I did check. I can do everything fine (I shot some snowflakes today! - Fun!) but nothing allows me to bracket with the app. Just means I need to be careful about pressing the shutter until I get a remote.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Equipment Discussions All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group