New to Macro - Looking for some help

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Brandontmyers

New to Macro - Looking for some help

Post by Brandontmyers »

Hi All,

I am an amateur scorpion biologist. Weird, I know. In any case, it really got me interested in Macro Photography. After playing around for a bit with point and shoot cameras I decided to get a basic DSLR. Eventually, I picked up extension tubes and other small items, finally picking up a macro lens, diffuser, and speedlight.

Right now I am working with a Nikon D3300 and Tamron AF 90mm f/2.8 Di SP AF/MF 1:1 Macro Lens

Now I know I do not have the best equipment for macro photography, but I feel like my images should be a lot better than they are. I don't know if it is the lighting or what, but I feel like they could be sharper. I am still new to the terminology and the theory behind photography in general but I was wondering if someone could help me get on the right track.

ChrisR
Site Admin

Post by ChrisR »

Welcome Brandon

We particularly welcome weird biologists :)

Probably the answer will be one or both of

1) camera movement. What lighting are you using. Tried diffuse flash?
2) Diffraction. What aperture are you using?

Try a marked f/5.6 on the Tamron, with a diffuse flash, of something detailed. I bet it'll be sharp, but you'll then be asking about focus stacking.

Single shots, with the right flash illumination and maybe post processing, you can get sharpish pictures at a marked f/11 or so (which you camera may report as f/22, I'm not sure) a bit larger than web/screen size, but the physics prevents more.

Tried a UV light on these?
Chris R

Brandontmyers

Post by Brandontmyers »

Hey Chris,