www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - Broken plastic fine focus gear
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Broken plastic fine focus gear
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Equipment Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Saul



Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 1252
Location: Naperville, IL USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Choronzon wrote:
... a 2 micron per division travel, 200 microns per revolution fine adjustment, just like the Labophot.


So, insides are same like in the Labophot ?
Any idea what is the division travel for the Swift M3200 ?
http://www.publicsurplus.com/sms/docviewer/aucdoc/DSCN0377%5B2%5D.jpg?auc=765161&docid=5552284

Thanks !
_________________
Saul
Studio, horizontal and field setups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Pau
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Jan 2010
Posts: 4528
Location: Valencia, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't see any scale at this microscope side, but if present at the opposite side the numbers must refer to micrometers (at least in all microscopes I've used it does)
_________________
Pau
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Saul



Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 1252
Location: Naperville, IL USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pau wrote:
I can't see any scale at this microscope side, but if present at the opposite side the numbers must refer to micrometers (at least in all microscopes I've used it does)


Both sides are without scales:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Swift-M3200-Series-Microscope/121902129776

or

https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.publicsurplus.com/sms/docviewer/aucdoc
/DSCN0377%25255B2%25255D.jpg%253Fauc%253D765161%2526docid%253D5552284&
imgrefurl=http://www.publicsurplus.com/sms/auction/view?auc%3D765161&h=768&w=1024&tbnid=8L9MqwPvEFSurM:&
docid=t7g8NgkovMg_bM&ei=kLTMVtGLNMTkjgTixa3YAw&tbm=isch&ved=0ahUKEwjRk93x0I7LAhVEsoMKHeJiCzsQMwggKAMwAw

_________________
Saul
Studio, horizontal and field setups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ray_parkhurst



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 1722
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lothman wrote:
I ordered gears (16T module 0,4 for Labophot 2 and 18T module 0,3 for Labophot 1), will drill them and offer them.

Gluing with Loctite is very easy and strong.


Verified the 64 pitch does not work, so the guts of mine must be same as Labophot1. Anxiously awaiting your making these available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Saul



Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 1252
Location: Naperville, IL USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ray_parkhurst wrote:
Verified the 64 pitch does not work


Agree with Ray, got mine also - very close, closer than previous ones ... but not enough Sad
_________________
Saul
Studio, horizontal and field setups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
lothman



Joined: 14 Feb 2009
Posts: 337
Location: Stuttgart/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ray_parkhurst wrote:
Verified the 64 pitch does not work, so the guts of mine must be same as Labophot1. Anxiously awaiting your making these available.


Very Happy don`t be afraid, I ordered the gears, should arrive next week.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sumguy01



Joined: 28 Jan 2013
Posts: 1187
Location: Ketchikan Alaska USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys
Does the Optiphot 2 takes the same gear as the Labophot 2 ?
If so I am interested in a spare if available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lothman



Joined: 14 Feb 2009
Posts: 337
Location: Stuttgart/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:06 am    Post subject: test user Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm searching a Labophot-2-replacement-gear-test-user. The gears arrived and I drilled them to ø4mm. For a test user I could provide a free sample including Loctite adhesive.

As a trade-off the assembly should be foto-documented and the function should be proved.

Anybody?

regards
Lothar

P.S.: the Labophot 1 gears are low on stock, I'll receive only a few. The next batch is announced in 6 weeks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ray_parkhurst



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 1722
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:13 am    Post subject: Re: test user Reply with quote

lothman wrote:
Hi,

I'm searching a Labophot-2-replacement-gear-test-user. The gears arrived and I drilled them to ø4mm. For a test user I could provide a free sample including Loctite adhesive.

As a trade-off the assembly should be foto-documented and the function should be proved.

Anybody?

regards
Lothar

P.S.: the Labophot 1 gears are low on stock, I'll receive only a few. The next batch is announced in 6 weeks.


Sure, I'm your guy. Is 4mm correct? I need to check but I thought it was 3mm?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rjlittlefield
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 19391
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:31 am    Post subject: Re: test user Reply with quote

ray_parkhurst wrote:
Is 4mm correct? I need to check but I thought it was 3mm?

Definitely check. Would be very interesting if it's different from what's shown at http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=172315#172315.

--Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lothman



Joined: 14 Feb 2009
Posts: 337
Location: Stuttgart/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:56 am    Post subject: Re: test user Reply with quote

ray_parkhurst wrote:

Sure, I'm your guy. Is 4mm correct? I need to check but I thought it was 3mm?


Labophot 2, ø4mm bore, module 0.4 (bigger teeth and bigger diameter than Labophot 1), 16 teeth, outer diameter should be 7,2mm. That's what Rik's Labophot 2 had.

Labophot 1, ø3mm bore, module 0.3, 18 teeth, outer diameter 6mm, that's what my Labophot 1 had
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ray_parkhurst



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 1722
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:18 pm    Post subject: Re: test user Reply with quote

lothman wrote:
ray_parkhurst wrote:

Sure, I'm your guy. Is 4mm correct? I need to check but I thought it was 3mm?


Labophot 2, ø4mm bore, module 0.4 (bigger teeth and bigger diameter than Labophot 1), 16 teeth, outer diameter should be 7,2mm. That's what Rik's Labophot 2 had.

Labophot 1, ø3mm bore, module 0.3, 18 teeth, outer diameter 6mm, that's what my Labophot 1 had


Per earlier replies, mine is a Modular Focus block, with guts equivalent to Labophot1, so I need the 3mm bore 18 M0.3 gear. I tried a 64-pitch gear, and it was a little too large in diameter, so I believe this is correct. So I am your guy for the Labophot1 test...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ray_parkhurst



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 1722
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 2:29 pm    Post subject: Re: test user Reply with quote

rjlittlefield wrote:
ray_parkhurst wrote:
Is 4mm correct? I need to check but I thought it was 3mm?

Definitely check. Would be very interesting if it's different from what's shown at http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=172315#172315.

--Rik


Confirmed, 2.97mm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lothman



Joined: 14 Feb 2009
Posts: 337
Location: Stuttgart/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sumguy01 wrote:
Hi guys
Does the Optiphot 2 takes the same gear as the Labophot 2 ?
If so I am interested in a spare if available.


IMO yes it's the same gear, I sent you a PM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sumguy01



Joined: 28 Jan 2013
Posts: 1187
Location: Ketchikan Alaska USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe this will be helpful.
I found the Nikon part number for the fine focus shaft assembly for the Optiphot 2.
This is the shaft with gear installed.
P/N 2 B260-035-1
It may be a way to confirm that its the same as the Labophot 2 or any other scopes.
Does anyone have the P/N for the Labophot 2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Equipment Discussions All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group