New old scope and image issues?

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

chemophilic

New old scope and image issues?

Post by chemophilic »

Hello all,

This is my first time posting and hope to learn a lot here! I just got a new to me Standard 16 with Neoflaur phase objectives. I used that for teaching and had started taking pictures with the trinoc head with an Amscope 2x adapter. However, with the pictures I took with the 10x objective, there seems to be a patch of dirt (see picture). I thought I wiped down the adapter lenses, objective, condenser lenses, and also the field diaphragm part... so I am bit puzzled as to where there might come from... any suggestions? Thank you!

Chris S.
Site Admin

Post by Chris S. »

Welcome to the forum! :D

I'm not a microscope expert, unlike quite a few others here, but I'll start with a question: If the camera you're using is an interchangeable lens model, have you checked the cleanliness of the sensor?

--Chris

chemophilic

Post by chemophilic »

Thank you!

I took it with a A7ii, but I just checked and the sensor is clean, so I am thinking it is a scope related problem...

Bushman.K

Post by Bushman.K »

Those dirt stripes look like a partial fingerprint.
So, it probably gives certain idea about size of surface, where it's located.

zzffnn

Post by zzffnn »

Welcome!

Most lens in your camera and microscope system can be rotated. You can rotate one lens at a time and take a photo or look into eyepiece to see if the "dirt" rotates.

Since your "dirt" photo came from trino tube, have you looked into eyepiece and did you see the same dirt? If eyepiece reveals the same "dirt", then it is below the eyepiece. If not, it is probably your adapter lens or camera Lena.

It does look like finger print. To see it clearly, you may need to shed light at an angle.