FocusStepper: Focus Stacking Automation

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

TheLostVertex

FocusStepper: Focus Stacking Automation

Post by TheLostVertex »

Driving The Wooden Monster, is FocusStepper. A Java application and Arduino build which communicate with eachother to drive the stepper motor.

In coming up with the UI, I was heavily inspired by Rik's thread on DoF calculation. His thread had been a great help to me in the past, as well as the spreadsheet he made. But I didn't want to be swinging back and forth between a spread sheet to do calculations.

Hopefully the UI makes a little bit of sense to people. I am by no means a UI designer.

The application operates like this:
1. The left column selects the size of each focus step. Three options are given for ways to choose. Automatic calculation, move a set distance, or move a set number of motor-steps
2. The middle column selects what the depth of the stack will be. Three options are here as well. Start/End points to select where you want the stack to begin and end, a user specified distance to stack, or a number of focus-steps to perform.
3. In order to focus for setting the start and end point, the arrow buttons in the top middle column will move the rail. Single arrows will move the rail by whatever the CURRENTLY selected focus-step size is. Double arrows will move the rail by the currently selected focus-step size times the multiplier in the settings window (default 2). For example, if the focus-step size is 200 motor-step, the [>] will move it toward the subject 200 motor-steps and [>>] will move it toward the subject 400 motor-steps.
4. The right column displays info about the current focus-step size, stack, a time estimate and other details.