Hello and some question about my "new" BHT

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Salva

Hello and some question about my "new" BHT

Post by Salva »

Hello everybody! I am new to the forum and this is my first post.
Please let me introduce myself, I am a photographer and book designer from Barcelona with a great interest in the photographic aspects of microscopy. I have never use a microscope before but I have some macro knowledgement. Until now I got a lot of information just by reading and researching from many of your posts. Amazing pictures by the way! Still I have some doubt and questions I will like to clarify, if you can help me.

I will like to get started in photomicrography, and after some research I was putting together, piece by piece, a Olympus BH-2 BHT.
I will go for BF, DK and Phase Contrast and in a long run I will like a transmitted DIC system if I find it at a "reasonable price".

My BHT It is almost completed, what is missing are the lenses.
For your info my eyepieces are WK 10x/20L and 35 WK 10x/20L

For the condenser I got a BH2-PC 1:25 Phase Contrast turret with all the Phase Annular Rings, 10x, 20x, 40x, 100x

The questions are:
Do I have other lens option apart for the recommended in the Olympus BHS/BHT System Microscope Brochure? S Plan Achromat PL, NH and D Achromats.
In practical terms what is the deferences from S Plan Achromat PL or NH?

Can I use other brands?

Can I use a "normal" S Plan Apo for Phase Contrast? or do I need two sets? One for BF/DF DIC? and another set for Phase Contrast.
What is the function of the IF550 Interference yellow filter ? Part of the PC system in the Olympus Brochure (page 11).

What do I need for DF? Just the Darkfield Ring Attachment BH2-UDA? Please let me know what are the options. A different condenser?

DIC questions: