www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - New to the site
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
New to the site

Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Community Members and Friends
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bugs

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:51 am    Post subject: New to the site Reply with quote

Hi folks

Thought I would introduce myself.

I have been interested in visual microscopy since I was a kid of about 10 and got a Perfect Co 300x toy microscope for Christmas. Jump ahead 40 years and I have a PhD in aquatic entomology and work as a freshwater macroinvertebrate taxonomist. Much of my work involves staring down a microscope six hours a day identifying "bugs" for various research projects.

My main lab equipment includes a Zeiss Stemi SV11 stereoscope and a Labophot II phase contrast compound microscope. Both have photoports that I connect a Canon Rebel xsi to take microphotographs. Most of my microscopic imaging is for work purposes and are quick snap shots of whole bugs or to illustrate taxonomic characters. I will post my website related to the freshwater aquatic "bugs" of Saskatchewan, Canada, in my profile if anyone wishes to visit.

I also enjoy nature photography. I use a second hand DSLR Pentax with an old Tamaron sp 90mm macro, 80-210mm zoom and a 500 mm mirror lens. I prefer available light imaging out in the field and rarely use a flash as I find available light imaging to be more natural looking.