New and clueless, looking for some equipment advice.

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

hankbaskett

New and clueless, looking for some equipment advice.

Post by hankbaskett »

Hi,

I am a Geologist, and a (very) amateur photographer. Through my work, I come across a lot of samples that I would like to get some high quality pictures of. I have a Leica MZ6 Stereo microscope that I use to examine samples and cuttings, and I have an Olympus OM-D micro 4/3rds camera that I use for taking pictures.

As I understand it from reading the forums, stereoscopes are less than ideal for taking quality pictures, so I am open to other options besides mating the camera to the scope, but it would be very convenient to use the stereoscope.

I use a 10x eyepiece on the scope, and between 1x and 2.6x on the objective, depending on the sample. I've tried using a prime 40mm lens and simply holding the camera above the eyepiece, but the pictures are not great. I'll attach a sample, maybe my expectations are too high or something.

Thanks for any advice.Image

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Hank, welcome aboard! :D

The first thing to do is carefully compare what your camera captured with what you see through the eyepiece.

In a single picture, the camera may be hampered by limited depth of field, whereas your eye can adjust focus to fit different parts of the subject.

So what you're looking to know is whether the sharpest parts of the image contain the same amount of detail that you can see through the eyepieces.

If they do, then apparently the limitation is in the scope optics and we need to get you set up with something sharper.